Mois Année
"Let's discover the Galilee
with Mozart "
July 2020

Mozart: The Child Prodigy

[1]

At three years old, the young Wolfgang was attracted to music. Often he entertains himself for hours in search of thirds on the harpsichord. In his fourth year his father Leopold began to teach him on the harpsichord, by play, small minuets, etudes, which he learned in half an hour or an hour and which he could reproduce without a fault. Besides the harpsichord, Wolfgang also learns the violin on a small instrument built to his size.

 

In other words, before learning to read, write and count, Mozart knows how to decipher a score and play it to perfection. Wolfgang is not going, will never go to school. His father is his only teacher. Leopold notes on January 26, 1761 "this minuet and this trio were learned by Wolfgang in half an hour, a day before his fifth year at half past nine in the evening. "

 

In January 1762, Léopold transcribed Wolfgang's first work on a Marianne notebook: the K2 minuet and in

the months that followed succeeded an allegro for harpsichord and two other minuets. At the age of 8 he will have already composed nearly thirty works (sonatas, minuets, two symphonies). On May 17, 1767, then 11 years old, he performed his first opera in Salzburg: Apollo and Hyacinthus, and during the year he composed his first four concertos for harpsichord (in two months). [2]

As a child Mozart has the desire to learn everything he sees and shows a lot of aptitude for drawing and calculation but he was too absorbed in music to demonstrate his talents in any other branch. However, when he learns to count, he covers everything: chairs, tables, walls, parquet floors with figures drawn in chalk.

 

Child prodigy, Wolfgang, ran with his father and his sister, the European Courts from 1763 to 1766: Germany, Belgium, France, England and the Netherlands. He performs in salons where he takes part in contests for improvisation, virtuosity, also gives public concerts "Wolfgang asks someone to write down a minuet or whatever, and he, immediately, without touching the harpsichord, here he writes the bass on this music, and even even, if you like, a second part of song for the violin… He even knows how to transpose the tunes at first sight, accompanying them.

Everywhere we put in front of him pieces that he deciphers at glance ... "[3]

 

Mozart also has an extraordinary memory. Everyone knows the anecdote repeated in several letters, including that of his father on April 14, 1770 (Mozart is 14 years old): "You may have heard of the Miserere de Rome [4], so famous and which is estimated at such a price that it is expressly forbidden, under penalty of excommunication to the musicians of the chapel (Sistine) to extract a partition from the chapel, to copy it or to communicate it to anyone. We already have it. Wolfgang already wrote it ... "(the night of his audition).

[1] According to the notes of Léopold Mozart and Marianne Mozart (older sister of Wolfgang, known as Nannerl) taken from the bibliography of Mozart by Jean and Brigitte Massin.

[2] These are actually concerto arrangements for harpsichord of works by other authors, a common practice at the time.

[3] Léopold Mozart Paris February 1 to 3, 1764

[4] Allegri's Miserere

Meet In Galilée 

2bis rue Leroux

75116 Paris

  • Facebook

© 2016 - LES JOURNEES DE GALILEE

Directeur de la publication / Managers publishing

Nous contacter: 

 

+33652756212

muriel.haim@meetingalilee.com

Subscribe to our newsletter:

Mois Année
"Découvrons la Galilée
avec Mozart"
Juillet 2020

Mozart : L'enfant Prodige 

[1]

A trois ans, le jeune Wolfgang est attiré par la musique. Souvent il se divertit pendant des heures à la recherche de tierces au clavecin. Dans sa quatrième année son père Léopold commence à lui enseigner au clavecin, par jeu, de petits menuets, études, qu’il apprend en une demi-heure ou une heure et qu’il peut reproduire sans une faute. Outre le clavecin, Wolfgang apprend également le violon sur un petit instrument construit à sa taille.

 

En d’autres termes, avant d’apprendre à lire, écrire et compter, Mozart sait déchiffrer une partition et la jouer à la perfection. Wolfgang ne va pas, n’ira jamais à l’école. Son père est son unique professeur.

Léopold note le 26 janvier 1761 « ce menuet et ce trio ont été appris par Wolfgang en une demi-heure, un jour avant sa cinquième année à neuf heures et demi du soir. »

 

En janvier 1762, Léopold transcrit sur un cahier de Marianne la première œuvre de Wolfgang : le menuet K2 et dans les mois qui suivent se succèdent un allegro pour clavecin et deux autres menuets. A l’âge de 8 ans il aura déjà composé près d’une trentaine d’œuvres (sonates, menuets, deux symphonies). Le 17 mai 1767, alors âgé de 11 ans, il représente à Salzbourg son premier opéra : Apollo et Hyacinthus et dans l’année il composera ses quatre premiers concertos pour clavecin (en deux mois).[2]

Enfant Mozart a le désir d’apprendre tout ce qu’il voit et montre beaucoup de dispositions pour le dessin et le calcul mais il était trop absorbé par la musique pour manifester ses talents en toute autre branche. Néanmoins quand il apprend à compter, il couvre tout : chaises, tables, murs, parquet de chiffres tracés à la craie.

 

Enfant prodige, Wolfgang, court avec son père et sa sœur, les Cours Européennes de 1763 à 1766 : Allemagne, Belgique, France, Angleterre et Pays-Bas. Il se produit dans les salons où il s’adonne à des concours d’improvisation, de virtuosité, donne également des concerts publics « Wolfgang demande à quelqu’un de mettre par écrit un menuet ou n’importe quoi d’autre, et lui, tout de suite, sans toucher au clavecin, le voici qui écrit la basse sur cette musique, et même encore, si l’on veut, une seconde partie de chant pour le violon… Il sait même transposer à première vue les airs, en les accompagnant.

Partout on met devant lui des pièces qu’il déchiffre à vue… »[3]

 

Mozart est également doté d’une mémoire extraordinaire. Chacun connait l’anecdote reprise dans plusieurs lettres dont celle de son père le 14 avril 1770 (Mozart a 14 ans) : « Tu as peut-être entendu parler du Miserere de Rome[4], tellement célèbre et qui est estimé à un tel prix qu’il est expressément défendu, sous peine d’excommunication aux musiciens de la chapelle (Sixtine) d’en sortir une partition hors de la chapelle, de le copier ou de le communiquer à qui que ce soit. Or nous le possédons déjà. Wolfgang l’a déjà écrit… » (le soir même de son audition).

[1] D’après les notes de Léopold Mozart et de Marianne Mozart (sœur aînée de Wolfgang, dite Nannerl) reprises de la bibliographie de Mozart par Jean et Brigitte Massin.

[2] Il s’agit en réalité d’arrangements en concertos pour clavecin d’œuvres d’autres auteurs, pratique courante à l’époque.

[3] Léopold Mozart Paris 1er-3 février 1764

[4] Miserere d’Allegri

Meet In Galilée 

2bis rue Leroux

75116 Paris

  • Facebook

© 2016 - LES JOURNEES DE GALILEE

Directeur de la publication / Managers publishing

Nous contacter: 

 

+33652756212

muriel.haim@meetingalilee.com

S'abonner à notre Newsletter: