Mois Année
Capture d’écran 2020-11-02 à 13.17.27.
"Let's discover the Galilee
with Mozart"
March 2022

Act III

1200px-TheMarriageofFigaroOriginalPoster.jpg

At the beginning of the third act, the Count has still not understood anything of the events of the morning that he reiterates: " An anonymous bill... the cameraman locked up in a cabinet... my troubled wife... a man who jumps from the balcony... another who accuses himself of being the one who jumped... I do not know what to think ".  On the other hand, he has not yet given up the hope to seduce Susanna. Obedient to the Countess, she pretends to accept the rendez-vous that the Count has fixed for the evening in the garden. The Count is delighted, the duet "Crudel, perché finora" reveals the ardour of the feelings of the Count "Cruel! Why have you kept me languish until now?" in contrast with the detachment of Susanna "the women need time to say yes ".
 
While leaving the Count, Susanna crosses Figaro and asserts to him, a little too loudly, that he has won his trial. But the Count has heard and his desire of revenge starts up again: "I was going to fall into the trap! perfidious! I will punish you for your insolence. The judgment will be given according to my good pleasure... Insolent (Figaro) you did not come into the world to torment me and laugh in addition to my misfortune... The only hope of my revenge fills me with joy " (Air and recitative “Vedro mentr'io sospiro, felice un servo moi?”).
 
Here we are, Figaro's trial is introduced, the judge Don Curzio condemns him to pay his debt or to marry Marcellina. But can Figaro marry without the consent of his parents, he argues! But where are they anyway? Who are they? Could it be a foundling, Bartolo asks?
Surprise! Spectacular turn of events! One discovers, to everyone’s amazement, that Figaro is the son of Marcellina and Bartolo. Obviously: he, his father; she, his mother ... marriage is impossible! Everybody kisses each other "Sweet happiness that this moment" except the desappointed Count "Cruel moment that this moment" (Sextuor : "Reconosci in questo amplesso"). A double wedding is coming: Figaro and Susanna on the one hand ... Bartolo and Marcellina who will legalize their union the same evening on the other hand.
 
While waiting for Susanna’s return, the Countess lets herself go to the melancholy and thinks of her lost happiness " Where did these days of tenderness go... ". (Aria : "Dove sono")[1] . Suzanne returns and writes to the Countess’s dictation a note intended for the Count specifying the time and the place of the nocturnal rendez-vous "under the pines of the grove" (Duet: "Canzonetta sull'aria ... Che suoave zeffiretto"). It is in reality the Countess who will go there in the clothes of her chambermaid.
 
The festivities of the wedding are about to begin. Cherubino, mixed with the girls of the village who have come to offer flowers to the Countess, is unmasked by the Count. Barberina saves the situation by singing "Lord give me Cherubino in marriage and I will love you as much as my little cat". The Count's anger is quelled by the joyful arrival of the bridal procession to a fandango tune (the only Spanish element in the score). A Chorus bursts out in praise of the Count, who is thanked for having abolished the "droit de Seigneur".
 
The ceremony can begin! While receiving her wedding veil, Suzanne gives to the Count the note dictated by the Countess.

Capture d’écran 2022-05-19 à 03.44.48.png

Act IV

The action unfolds now in the garden of the castle where abound groves and bowers.
 
Barberina is troubled, following the instructions of the note, the Count sent her to carry the pin to Suzanne but the young girl lost it "I lost it... poor me". (Cavatina "L'ho perduta"). Figaro teases Barberina but this story of pin worries him. Wouldn't Susanna have already succumbed to the Count's assaults by accepting this rendez-vous? He confides his fears to his mother Marcellina who doubts Susanna’s duplicity "only we poor women are always treated with cruelty by these perfidious men" (Aria: "Il capro e la capretta").
 
There follows a dialogue between Figaro, Bartolo and Basilio who recognizes that "in this world, rubbing shoulders with the great is always dangerous, ... but to survive, the little people, can escape shame, perils and death ... in front of a ferocious animal, a donkey skin may suffice" (Aria: "In quegl' anni, in cui val poco").
 
Figaro is left alone, he decides to take revenge and to confound the lovers in front of exeryone "everything is ready", cursing the female gender "Ah, trusting women is madness! Open your eyes imprudent and stupid men" (Recitative and aria : "Tutto e disposto - Aprite un po'quegl'occhi").
 
At the approach of the Countess and Susanna (who have exchanged their clothes) Figaro hides to listen to them. Susanna, who has been warned by Marcelina, also wants to play a trick on Figaro who dares to doubt her fidelity. "The rascal is on sentry, let's entertain ourselves, let's make him pay for his suspicions", she sings her hope to find her beloved "The moment has come to be happy in the arms of the one I love" (Air "Giunse alfin il momento...Deh vieni, non tardar ")[2]
 
The rendez-vous is approaching, the comedy of the false identities can begin. The night is favourable to misunderstandings: Cherubino undertakes to seduce the one he believes to be Susanna but who is in reality the Countess. The false Susanna resists him. Cherubino attempts a kiss which is received by the Count who has come to intervene. The slaps rain down, Cherubino decamps leaving the Count alone with his false Susanna. It is now up to the Count to court the false Susanna and to offer her a beautiful ring as a token of love.
 
The Count flees and it is around Susanna under the clothes of the Countess to try to seduce Figaro. Figaro is drunk with anger but having recognized Susanna's voice understands the trick and, after having entered into her game by becoming more and more enterprising, confesses to her having recognized her. The newlyweds make peace and launch into a great love scene "Let's run my love and let the pleasure compensate the pain!”.
 
But Suzanna is still in the clothes of the Countess and the Count, believing to see his adulterous wife in the arms of a gallant, emerges from a bush and calls his people, determined to punish the guilty. He brings out of the bushes one by one Cherubina, Barbarina, Marcellina and the presumed guilty.
 
The masks fall to the great confusion of the Count when the true Countess appears. The Count has no other solution than to implore the forgiveness of his wife. She accepts his apology, the couples reform for the finale "Contessa perdono... Questo giorno di tormenti" and the opera ends in general rejoicing "Thus we are all happy, only love could conclude this day in joy and gladness".

Bonuses

For the revival of the “Nozze” in Vienna in 1789, the "Ferrarese", a singer called to play the role of Susanna, obtained from Da Ponte (whose mistress she was) to rewrite two arias from the opera, including the "Deh vieni" in Act IV, which was replaced by "Al desio" (the recitative remains unchanged). As Jean Victor HOCQUARD[3] points out "these two arias have nothing in common, not even the words: Suzanna would never have had this passionate cry on the word "moriro". It is therefore out of the question to substitute the new aria for the old one... One may wonder why Mozart rewrote this piece to put it in place of the Deh vieni of the 1786 Opera?" Jean Victor Hocquard suggests a secret and personal reason: "Could Mozart have heard the moving aria inspired by his beloved Nancy Storace, creator of the role sung by Mrs. Ferrarese in this Viennese revival of 1789, without being heartbroken?”
 
Nowadays, this very "concertante" aria is only interpreted as a great concert aria that should be considered as an aria detached from any context in order to appreciate its undeniable beauties[4].

[1] “Dove Sono” is probably the longest and most moving aria in this opera.
[2] This aria was deleted for the 1789 revival in Vienna and replaced by the aria “Al desio di chi t’adora” cf. Bonuses
[3] Cf. V. Hocquard in “Mozart in his concert airs”

[4] This aria was deleted for the 1789 revival in Vienna and replaced by the aria “Al desio di chi t’adora” cf. Bonuses

Mois Année
Capture d’écran 2020-11-02 à 13.17.27.
"Découvrons la Galilée
avec Mozart"
Mars 2022

Acte III

1200px-TheMarriageofFigaroOriginalPoster.jpg

Au début du troisième acte, le Comte n’a toujours rien compris aux événements de la matinée qu’il ressasse : « Un billet anonyme... la camériste enfermée dans un cabinet... ma femme troublée... un homme qui saute du balcon... un autre qui s’accuse d’être celui qui a sauté...Je ne sais que penser ».  En revanche, il n’a pas encore abandonné l’espoir de séduire Susanna. Obéissant à la Comtesse, elle feint d’accepter le rendez-vous que le Comte lui a fixé pour le soir dans le jardin. Le Comte est ravi, le duo « Crudel, perché finora » révèle l’ardeur des sentiments du Comte « Cruelle ! pourquoi m’as-tu fait languir jusqu’à présent » en contraste avec le détachement de Susanna « les femmes ont besoin de temps pour dire oui ».
 
En quittant le Comte, Suzanne croise Figaro et lui affirme, un peu trop fort, qu’il a gagné son procès. Mais le Comte a entendu et son désir de vengeance repart de plus belle : « J’allais donner dans le piège ! perfides ! Je vous punirai de votre insolence. Le jugement sera rendu selon mon bon plaisir... Insolent (Figaro) tu n’es pas venu au monde pour me tourmenter et rire en plus de mon malheur... Le seul espoir de ma vengeance me remplit de joie » (Air et récitatif « Vedro mentr’io sospiro, felice un servo moi ? »).
 
On y est, le procès de Figaro est introduit, le juge Don Curzio le condamne à payer sa dette ou à épouser Marcellina. Mais Figaro peut-il se marier sans le consentement de ses parents argumente-t-il ! Mais d’ailleurs où sont-ils ? Qui sont-ils ? Serait-ce un enfant trouvé demande Bartholo ?
Surprise ! Coup de théâtre ! On découvre, à la stupéfaction de tous que Figaro est le fils de Marcellina et de Bartholo. Bien évidemment : lui, son père ; elle sa mère ...  le mariage est impossible ! Tout le monde s’embrasse « Doux bonheur que cet instant » sauf le Comte dépité « Cruel moment que cet instant » (Sextuor : « Reconosci in questo amplesso »). Un double mariage se profile : Figaro et Susanna d’une part ... Bartholo et Marcellina qui légaliseront leur union le soir même d’autre part.
 
En attendant le retour de Susanna, la Comtesse se laisse aller à la mélancolie et songe à son bonheur perdu « Où sont allés ces jours de tendresse... » (Aria : « Dove sono »)[1]. Suzanne revient et écrit sous la dictée de la Comtesse un billet destiné au Comte précisant l’heure et le lieu du rendez-vous nocturne « sous les pins du bosquet » (Duo : « Canzonetta sull’aria ... Che suoave zeffiretto »). C’est en réalité la Comtesse qui s’y rendra dans les vêtements de sa camériste.
 
Les festivités de la noce sont sur le point de débuter. Chérubin, mêlé aux filles du village venues offrir des fleurs à la Comtesse, est démasqué par le Comte. Barberina sauve la situation en chantant « Seigneur donnez-moi Cherubino en mariage et le vous aimerai autant que mon petit chat ». La colère du Comte est étouffée par l'arrivée joyeuse du cortège nuptial sur un air de fandango (seul élément espagnol de la partition). Un Chœur éclate à la louange du Comte remercié pour avoir aboli le « droit de Seigneur ».
 
La cérémonie peut commencer ! En recevant son voile de noces, Suzanne remet au Comte le billet dicté par la Comtesse.

Capture d’écran 2022-05-19 à 03.44.48.png

Acte IV

L’action se déploie maintenant dans le jardin du château où foisonnent bosquets et charmilles.
 
Barberina est troublée, suivant les directives du billet, le Comte l’a envoyée porter l'épingle à Suzanne mais la jeune fille l'a perdue « Je l’ai perdue... pauvre de moi » (Cavatine « L’ho perduta »). Figaro taquine Barberina mais cette histoire d’épingle l’inquiète. Susanna n’aurait-elle pas déjà succombé aux assauts du Comte en acceptant ce rendez-vous ? Il confie ses craintes à sa mère Marcellina qui doute de la duplicité de Susanna « seules nous autres pauvres femmes somme toujours traitées avec cruauté par ces hommes perfides » (Aria : « Il capro e la capretta »).
 
S’en suit un dialogue entre Figaro, Bartholo et Basilio qui reconnait que « dans ce monde, se frotter aux grands est toujours dangereux, ... mais pour survivre, les petites gens, peuvent échapper à la honte, aux périls et à la mort ... face à un animal féroce, une peau d’âne peut suffire » (Aria : « In quegl’ anni, in cui val poco »).
 
Figaro est resté seul, il décide de se venger et de confondre les amants sous les yeux de tous « tout est prêt », maudissant la gente féminine « Ah, se fier aux femmes est folie ! Ouvrez vos yeux hommes imprudents et sots » (Récitatif et aria : « Tutto e disposto  - Aprite un po’quegl’occhi »).
 
A l’approche de la Comtesse et de Susanna (qui ont échangé leurs vêtements) Figaro se cache pour les écouter. Suzanne, qui a été prévenue par Marcelina, veut également jouer un tour à Figaro qui ose douter de sa fidélité. « Le fripon est en sentinelle divertissons nous, faisons-lui payer ses soupçons », elle chante son espoir de retrouver son bien-aimé « Le moment est venu d’être heureuse dans les bras de celui que j’aime » (Air « Giunse alfin il momento...Deh vieni, non tardar »)[2],
Le rendez-vous approche, la comédie des fausses identités peut commencer. La nuit est propice aux quiproquos : Cherubino entreprend de séduire celle qu’il croit être Susanna mais qui est en réalité la Comtesse.  La fausse Susanna lui résiste. Cherubino tente un baiser qui est reçu par le Comte venu s’interposer. Les gifles pleuvent, Cherubino décampe laissant le Comte seul avec sa fausse Susanna. C’est au Comte maintenant de courtiser la fausse Susanna et de lui offrir en gage d’amour une superbe bague.
Le Comte s’enfuit et c’est autour de Susanna sous les habits de la Comtesse de tenter de séduire Figaro. Figaro est ivre de colère mais ayant reconnu la voix de Suzanna comprend la ruse et, après être entré dans son jeu en devenant de plus en plus entreprenant, lui avoue l'avoir reconnue. Les jeunes mariés font la paix et se lancent dans une grande scène d’amour « Courons mon amour et que le plaisir compense la peine ! ».
Mais Suzanna est toujours dans les habits de la Comtesse et le Comte croyant voir son épouse adultère dans les bras d’un galant surgit d’un buisson et appelle ses gens, bien décidé à châtier les coupables. Il fait sortir des buissons un à un Cherubina, Barbarina, Marcellina et la présumée coupable.
Les masques tombent à la grande confusion du Comte lorsqu’apparait la véritable Comtesse. Le Comte n’a d’autre solution que d’implorer le pardon de sa femme. Elle accepte ses excuses, les couples se reforment pour le final « Contessa perdono... Questo giorno di tormenti » et l’opéra s’achève dans la réjouissance générale « Ainsi nous sommes tous contents, seul l’amour pouvait conclure cette journée dans la joie et l’allégresse ».

Bonus

Pour la reprise des Noces à Vienne en 1789 « La Ferrarese » cantatrice appelée à tenir le rôle de Susanna obtient de Da Ponte (dont elle est la maîtresse) de lui récrire deux arias des Noces dont le « Deh vieni » de l’acte IV qui sera remplacé par « Al desio » (le récitatif reste inchangé). Comme le souligne Jean Victor HOCQUARD[3] « ces deux arias n’ont rien en commun, même pas les paroles : jamais Suzanna n’aurait eu ce cri passionné sur le mot « moriro ». Il ne saurait donc être question de substituer à la représentation le nouvel air à l’ancien... On peut se demander pourquoi Mozart a récrit ce morceau pour le mettre à la place du Deh vieni de l’Opéra de 1786 ?» Jean Victor Hocquard suggère une raison secrète et personnelle « Mozart pouvait-il sans crève-cœur entendre l’aria si émouvante que lui avait inspiré sa chère Nancy Storace créatrice du rôle chanté par Mme Ferrarese dans cette reprise viennoise de 1789 ».
 
De nos jours, cette aria très « concertante » n’est plus interprétée que comme un grand air de concert qu’il convient de considérer comme un air détaché de tout contexte pour en apprécier les incontestables beautés.[4]

[1] « Dove Sono » est sans doute l’Aria la plus longue et la plus émouvante de l’opéra.

[2] Cette aria a été supprimée pour la reprise de 1789 à Vienne et remplacé par l’aria « Al desio di chi t’adora » cf. Bonus.

[3] Cf. V. Hocquard in « Mozart dans ses airs de concert »

[4] Cf. lien youtube vers l’air chanté en concert par C. Bartoli sous la direction de N. Harnoncourt.