Mois Année
Capture d’écran 2020-11-02 à 13.17.27.
"Let's discover the Galilee
with Mozart"
May 2022

Don Giovanni
ossia « Il Dissoluto Punito »
Dramma Giocoso en 2 actes
Livret Lorenzo da Ponte
Creation 29 Octobre 1787

Capture d’écran 2022-05-19 à 03.47.10.png

“Time has passed. The little Cherubino left the Almaviva’s to settle in his own palace, towards Seville. He became the great Don Giovanni. Great in appetite as in the role he plays in this world: this radiant man who lies as he breathes, who kills as he loves, recklessly, who never doubts – until the day a statue speaks to him”[1]
 
Action can begin!

CHARACTERS:

Don GIOVANNI (Alexandre Duhamel) ; LEPORELLO (Robert Gleadow) : Donna ANNA (Iulia Maria Dan) ;
Donna ELVIRA (Arianna Vendittelli) ; ZERLINA (Chiara Skerath) ; Don OTTAVIO (Julien Henric)
MASETTO & IL COMMENDATORE (Callum Thorpe).
 
“Les Musiciens du Louvre-Grenoble”, conducted by Marc Minkowski.
Semi-staging by Romain Gilbert.

Overture

Mozart had almost finished composing his opera when he wrote the overture at his friends’home, the Duseks, in Prague where the premiere will take place. Although it repeats certain themes from the opera, the overture is not a summary of the action as has often been said. It opposes from the outset by its stubborn tempo the drama of punishment, of the damnation of Don Giovanni[2] to the frantic race of the impetuous seducer motivated by the sole pursuit of pleasure.

Act I

At nightfall, Leporello, Don Giovanni's servant, stands guard in front of the Commendatore's palace, where his master has entered in order to seduce his daughter Donna Anna. He laments his condition: "Night and day I slave for one who does not appreciate it, ... I want to be a gentleman and to give up my servitude" (introduction: "Notte e giorno faticar")
 
Suddenly, Anna appears in a rage, pursuing Don Giovanni who is trying to hide his face; hearing his cries, his father, runs up and challenges the seducer to a duel, who mortally wounds him " Help ... the assassin has wounded me, I see my soul escaping…" (Trio: "Ah soccorso! »)[3].
 
Don Giovanni flees. Anna is in a state of shock, she recognized her father's body and fainted. Ottavio, her fiancé, came running and tries to comfort her as she regained consciousness. Both swear to avenge her “Ah! swear forever to avenge his blood if you can... I swear it upon our love... What an oath, ye gods” (Recitative and Duo “Che giuramento, oh Dei”).
 
The hunt is on! Already in search of a new adventure, Don Giovanni and Leporello meet Donna Elvira in the early morning, whom he once seduced and then abandoned. “Quiet! I think I sniff a woman” says Don Giovanni... “My, what a perfect sense of smell! » thinks Leporello aside.

Donna Elvira, is devastated by his betrayal “Ah, who will tell me where the rascal is whom, to my shame, I loved and who betrayed me?” (Aria "Ah, chi mi dice mai!"). But Don Giovanni does not recognize her immediately and tries to start a conversation. Having recognized her, he flees, leaving her with Leporello, who tries to console her by presenting the list of her master's conquests “My dear lady, this is a list of the beauties my master has loved” (Aria: “Madamina!”)[4]. Elvira makes a vow of revenge.
 
Later in the morning, Don Giovanni comes across a village wedding Zerlina is to marry Masetto (Duet with Chorus “Giovinette che fate all’amore”). Don Giovanni, all exhilarated, goes hunting again, Zerlina pleases him. The opportunity is too good, the seducer goes in force to stay alone with Zerlina. Masetto rebels, Don Giovanni threatens him "If you don't leave us right away, be careful, you'll regret it". Masetto bows bitterly “I understand, yes sir, I do!” (Aria: “Ho capito, signor si!”). Remained alone with Zerlina Giovanni goes on the attack trying to seduce Zerlina with sweet arguments. There follows a declaration of love in which Don Giovanni promises the moon to the young Zerlina "There we will be married, there you will give me your hand, there you will tell me yes, ... I will change your life..." (Duettino “La ci darem la mano”)[5]. Everything is feigned but with such expertise... that Zerlina, hesitant at first, is quickly conquered.

But the impromptu arrival of Elvira cuts short Don Giovanni's attempt. She trains Zerlina before she gives in and recommends that she flee the traitor (Aria “Ah, fuggi il traditor”). Then, she warns Donna Anna and Don Ottavio, who have come to seek the friendship of Don Giovanni, against the one who has abandoned her and whom they have not yet recognized, "Do not believe, unhappy one, in that faithless heart!, The villain has already betrayed me and now seeks to betray you too”. Don Giovanni responds to her reproaches by trying to pass her off as crazy “... the poor girl is mad, my friends”, without managing to convince her interlocutors who are beginning to have doubts (Quartet: “Non ti fidar, o misera. »). After his departure, Donna Anna thinks she has recognized in Don Giovanni's « farewell / addio » her father's murderer and tells Ottavio about the aggression (Recitative with orchestra and aria « Don Ottavio ... son morta! » )[6] .

We are now in the garden of Don Giovanni's palace. In a recitative, Leporello comes to report to his master what he has done with Mazetto and Elvira. “Well done excellently done!» Don Giovanni, delighted, instructs him to organize a party « So that the wine may set their heads whirling, go and prepare a wonderful party. If you find a young lady on the way, try to bring her along...I want to make love, to my list tomorrow morning, you will have to add at least ten names" (Aria "Fin ch'han dal vino")[7]. Pleasures and festivities will be on the menu of a masked ball to which Masetto, Zerlina, are invited. Mazetto is pissed at having been dismissed by Leporello. He does not know what exactly happened between his fiancée and the "cavaliero". Zerlina tries to appease his jealousy "You can beat me my beautiful Mazetto, I will stay here like a lamb... happy then I will kiss your wonderfully sweet hands... Let’s make up, my own true love …" (Recitative and aria "Batti, batti , o bel Mazetto”).

The grand finale of the first act comes. We are arriving to a turning point.

Don Giovanni did not give up trying to seduce Zerlina who tried to hide in a grove. He saw her "Zerlina my lovely I’ve seen you, don't run away ... I am full in love, I want to make you happy". These words are compromising, poor Zerlina is tortured. But the interview is cut short because Mazetto has just popped up “Mazetto? - Yes Mazetto! ". Don Giovanni manages to get out of an embarrassing situation. The two men will not face each other in the end. They are overtaken by the party "Le us cheer up, and go and dance with the others, all three of us …".

Capture d’écran 2022-05-19 à 04.08.06.png

Don Giovanni still ignores it, Anna, Elvira and Ottavio arrive masked. They conceived the project of entering the square in favor of the ball. Our three masked express their fever and their concern about the outcome of their business "We must be brave... Our friend is right... The step is a dangerous one". A minuet reminds us that the ball is about to open. Leporello draws Don Giovanni's attention to the charming masked ladies. He invites them...
 

We are now back in the ballroom. The gaiety rings false, we feel the storm breaking. “Come forward my gracious masqueraders!” Leporello intervenes! “Everyone is welcome! Hurray for freedom!” adds Don Giovanni.
 

As Leporello attracts Masetto's attention, Don Giovanni leads Zerlina outside. When Zerlina calls for help "Save me! Or I am lost!". Anna, Elvira, Ottavio and Mazetto run up “We are here to help you!”.
 
Don Giovanni plays the comedy by pushing Leporello with his sword, and accuses him of having wanted to seduce Zerlina “Here's the lout who did it!” Nobody believes him. The crowd surrounds him but he manages to escape.
 
Anna, Elvira and Ottavio take off their masks, uncover themselves and accuse Don Giovanni "The villain thinks his trick will serve to hide his villainy! Traitor we know everything! … Listen to the sound of vengeance as it thunders all around you! Upon your head this very day its thunderbolt shall fall"
 
Confusion reigns in the head of Don Giovanni, who goes inexorably towards his disastrous destiny:

"My head is whirling in confusion,
I no longer know what's happening.
A dreadful storm, oh Lord,
is thundering above me.
But I do not lack courage.
I am not lost or worried.
If the world itself should end,
nothing could make me afraid."

[1] See comments from Ivan Alexandre, director of the original production with Marc Minkowski taken up in Versailles, in Bordeaux in Barcelona and on July 24 and 25 in Akko in a semi-staging by Romain Gilbert.[2] From the opening, Joseph Losey's film clearly suggests the final punishment by filming in part in front of the incandescent furnaces of a Murano glass factory.

3] Magnificent trio (Anna, Giovanni, Leporello) where we feel the flight of life, the blood flowing from the fatal wound.

[4]This aria called "the catalog aria" in which are listed the conquests of Giovanni (640 in Italy... 1003 in Spain, peasant girls, maidservants, city girls, countesses, baronesses, marquises, princesses, blondes, brunettes, thin, fat, young, old...) is often sung as an air of bravery. Yes, it is, but it also requires great acting skills.
[5] This wonderful duo is probably the best known.
[6] In the later version for the Viennese performances of 1788 Mozart will add an aria for Don Ottavio "Dalla sua pace..." by which, left alone, he expresses his communion with Anna "On her peace depends mine... If she sighs I sigh too..."
[7] The whole destiny of Don Giovanni is summed up here in this need to exhaust the inexhaustible.

Mois Année
Capture d’écran 2020-11-02 à 13.17.27.
"Découvrons la Galilée
avec Mozart"
Mai 2022

Don Giovanni
ossia « Il Dissoluto Punito »
Dramma Giocoso en 2 actes
Livret Lorenzo da Ponte
Création 29 Octobre 1787

Capture d’écran 2022-05-19 à 03.47.10.png

« Les années ont passé. Le petit Cherubino a quitté les Almaviva pour s’établir dans son propre domaine, vers Séville. Il est devenu le grand Don Giovanni. Grand par l’appétit comme par le rôle qu’il tient en ce monde : cet homme radieux qui ment comme il respire, qui tue comme il aime, avec insouciance, qui ne doute jamais – jusqu’au jour où une statue lui parle »[1].
 
L’action peut commencer !

PERSONNAGES :
 
Don GIOVANNI (Alexandre Duhamel) ; LEPORELLO (Robert Gleadow) : Donna ANNA (Iulia Maria Dan) ;
Donna ELVIRA (Arianna Vendittelli) ; ZERLINA (Chiara Skerath) ; Don OTTAVIO (Julien Henric)
MASETTO & IL COMMENDATORE (Callum Thorpe).

Les Musiciens du Louvre-Grenoble, Direction Marc Minkowski.
Mise en espace Romain Gilbert.

Ouverture

Mozart avait quasiment terminé la composition de son opéra lorsqu’il écrivit l’ouverture chez ses amis les Dusek, à Prague où la première aura lieu. Bien qu’elle reprenne certains thèmes de l’opéra, l’ouverture n’est pas un résumé de l’action comme on l’a souvent dit. Elle oppose d’emblée par son tempo obstiné le drame du châtiment, de la damnation[2] de Don Giovanni à la course effrénée de l’impétueux séducteur motivé par la seule recherche du plaisir.

Acte I

A la nuit tombée, Leporello, le valet de Don Giovanni monte la garde devant le palais du Commandeur dans laquelle son maître est entré pour séduire sa fille Donna Anna. Il se lamente sur sa condition : « Nuit et jour se fatiguer pour qui n’en sait aucun gré, ... je veux faire le gentilhomme et ne veux plus servir » (introduction : « Notte e giorno faticar »)

Soudain, Anna apparaît en furie, poursuivant Don Giovanni qui cherche à dissimuler son visage ; entendant ses cris, son père, accourt et provoque le séducteur en duel, qui le blesse mortellement « Au secours ... l’assassin m’a blessé, je sens mon âme s’en aller » (Trio : « Ah soccorso ! »).[3]

Don Giovanni s'enfuit. Anna est en état de choc, elle a reconnu le cadavre de son père et s’évanouit. Ottavio, son fiancé, est accouru pour la réconforter alors qu’elle reprend conscience. Tous deux jurent de venger la mort de son père « Ah ! jure à jamais de venger ce sang si tu le peux... Je le jure à notre amour... Quel serment, Ô Dieux » (Récitatif et Duo « Che giuramento, oh Dei »).

La chasse est ouverte ! Déjà en quête d’une nouvelle aventure, Don Giovanni et Leporello rencontrent au petit matin Donna Elvira qu'il a séduite autrefois puis abandonné. « Chut ! il me semble sentir comme une odeur de femme » dit Don Giovanni... « Quel parfait odorat ! » pense Leporello en aparté.
Donna Elvira, est dévastée par sa trahison « Ah! qui me dira jamais où est ce barbare que pour ma honte j’ai aimé ? » (Aria « Ah, chi mi dice mai ! ». Mais Don Giovanni ne la reconnaît pas immédiatement et tente d'engager la conversation. L'ayant reconnue, il s'enfuit, la laissant à Leporello, qui tente de la consoler en lui présentant la liste des conquêtes de son maître « Petite Madame, voici le catalogue des belles qu’a aimées mon maître » (Aria : « Madamina ! »)[4]. Elvira fait vœu de se venger.

Plus tard dans la matinée, Don Giovanni tombe sur un mariage de village Zerlina doit épouser Masetto (Duo avec Chœur « Giovinette che fate all’amore »). Don Giovanni tout émoustillé repart à la chasse, Zerlina lui plaît. L'occasion est trop belle, le séducteur passe en force pour rester seul avec Zerlina. Masetto s’insurge, Don Giovanni le menace « Si tu ne pars pas de suite, tu t’en repentiras ». Masetto s’incline avec amertume « J’ai compris oui monsieur ! » (Aria : « Ho capito, signor si ! »). Débarassé de Masetto Giovanni passe à l’attaque tente de séduire Zerlina avec des arguments doucereux. S’ensuit une déclaration d’amour dans laquelle Don Giovanni promet la lune à la jeune Zerlina « Là-bas nous nous donnerons la main, là-bas tu me diras oui, ... Je changerai ton sort... » (Duettino « La ci darem la mano »)[5]. Tout est feint mais avec un tel savoir-faire... que Zerlina d'abord hésitante est vite conquise.

Mais l’arrivée impromptue d’Elvira interrompt net la tentative de Don Giovanni. Elle entraîne Zerlina avant qu'elle ne cède et lui recommande de fuir le traître (Aria « Ah, fuggi il traditor »). Puis, elle met en garde Donna Anna et Don Ottavio venus requérir l’amitié de Don Giovanni, contre celui qui l'a abandonnée et qu’ils n’ont pas encore reconnu « Ne te fis pas, malheureuse à ce cœur scélérat, à ce barbare qui m’a déjà trahie et qui veut te trahir aussi ». Don Giovanni répond à ses reproches en essayant de la faire passer pour folle « ... la pauvre fille est folle mes amis », sans parvenir à convaincre ses interlocuteurs qui commencent à avoir des doutes (Quatuor : « Non ti fidar, o misera. » Après son départ, Donna Anna pense avoir reconnu dans « l’adieu / addio » de Don Giovanni l'assassin de son père et raconte à Ottavio l'agression (Récitatif avec orchestre et aria « Don Ottavio ... son morta ! »)[6].

Nous voici maintenant dans le jardin du palais de Don Giovanni. Dans un récitatif, Leporello vient rendre compte à son maître ce qu’il a fait de Mazetto et d’Elvira. « Bravo, bravo, archibravo ! » Don Giovanni, ravi le charge d’organiser une fête « Afin qu’ils aient par le vin la tête échauffée, fait préparer une grande fête. Si tu trouves sur place quelque fille essaie de l’amener avec toi...Je veux faire l’amour, à ma liste demain matin, d’une dizaine tu dois l’accroître » (Aria « Fin ch’han dal vino »)[7]. Plaisirs et réjouissances seront au menu d’un bal masqué auquel
Masetto, Zerlina, sont invités. Mazetto est ulcéré d’avoir été écarté par Leporello. Il ne sait ce qui s’est au juste passé entre sa fiancée et il « cavaliero ». Zerlina s’éfforce de l’attendrir « Tu peux me battre mon beau Mazetto, je resterai comme une agnelle... heureuse je saurai ensuite embrasser tes petites mains... paix paix ô ma vie » (Recitatif et aria « Batti, batti, o bel Mazetto »).

C’est le grand final du premier acte. On arrive à un tournant de l’action.

Don Giovanni n’a pas renoncé à séduire Zerlina qui a essayé de se cacher dans un bosquet. Il l’a aperçue « Zerlina ma charmante je t’ai vue, ne t’échappe pas... je suis tout amour, je veux te rendre heureuse ». Ces paroles sont compromettantes, la pauvre Zerline est torturée. Mais l’entretien tourne court car Mazetto vient de surgir « Mazetto ? - Oui Mazetto ! ». Don Giovanni réussit à sortir d’une situation embarrassante. Les deux hommes ne s’affronteront finalement pas. Ils sont rattrapés par la fête « Allons tous les trois danser avec les autres ».

Capture d’écran 2022-05-19 à 04.08.06.png

Don Giovanni l’ignore encore, Anna, Elvira et Ottavio arrivent masqués. Ils ont conçu le projet de s’introduire dans la place à la faveur du bal. Nos trois masqués expriment leur fièvre et leur inquiétude sur l’issue de leur entreprise « Il faut avoir du courage ... Notre amie à raison ... La chose est périlleuse ». Un menuet nous rappelle que le bal va ouvrir. Leporello attire l’attention de Don Giovanni sur les charmantes dames masquées. Celui-ci les invite...

Nous nous retrouvons maintenant dans la salle de bal. La gaité sonne faux, on sent poindre l’orage.  « Avancez donc jolies dames masquées » intervient Leporello ! « C’est ouvert à tous, vive la liberté !» renchérit Don Giovanni.

Tandis que Leporello attire l'attention de Masetto, Don Giovanni conduit Zerlina à l'extérieur. Lorsque Zerlina appelle à l'aide « Secourez-moi ou je suis morte ! ».  Anna, Elvira, Ottavio et Mazetto accourent « Nous sommes ici pour ta défense ».  

Don Giovanni, qui est momentanément surpris pousse alors Leporello avec son épée, et l'accuse d'avoir voulu séduire Zerlina « Voici le coquin qui t’a offensée ... Meurs inique ! ».

Anna, Elvira et Ottavio retirent leurs masques, se découvrent et accusent Don Giovanni « Le criminel par de telles ruses croit dissimuler son crime ... Tout est déjà connu, tremble scélérat ... Entend le son de la vengeance, sa foudre tombera. »

La confusion règne dans la tête de Don Giovanni qui va inexorablement vers son destin funeste :

« Tout est confus dans ma tête,
Je ne sais plus ce que je fais
Et une horrible tempête,
Oh Dieu me vient menacer !
Mais le courage ne me manque pas,
Je ne suis ni perdu ni confondu.
Quand bien même basculerait le monde,
Rien jamais ne me fera peur. »

[1] Cf. commentaires d’Ivan Alexandre metteur en scène de la production originale avec Marc Minkowski reprise à Versailles, à Bordeaux à Barcelone et les 24 et 25 juillet prochain à Akko dans la mise en espace de Romain Gilbert.

[2] Le film de Joseph Losey suggère bien dès l’ouverture le châtiment final par le tournage en partie devant les fours incandescents d’une verrerie de Murano.

[3] Magnifique trio (Anna, Giovanni, Leporello) où l’on sent la fuite de la vie, le sang qui s’écoule de la blessure fatale.

[4] Cet air appelé « air du catalogue » dans lequel sont énumérées les conquêtes de Giovanni (640 en Italie... 1003 en Espagne, des comtesses, des baronnes, des marquises, des princesses, des blondes, des brunes, des maigres, des grosses, jeunes, vieilles...) est souvent chanté comme un air de bravoure. Il l’est mais il requiert aussi de grandes qualités d’acteur.

[5] C’est le merveilleux duo, sans doute le plus connu.

[6] Dans la version ultérieure pour les représentations viennoises de 1788 Mozart ajoutera un air pour Don Ottavio « Dalla sua pace... » par lequel, laissé seul, il exprime sa communion avec Anna « De sa paix dépend la mienne ... Si elle soupire je soupire aussi ... »

[7] Tout le destin de Don Giovanni est ici résumé dans ce besoin d’épuiser l’inépuisable.