Mois Année
Capture d’écran 2020-11-02 à 13.17.27.
"Let's discover the Galilee
with Mozart "
December 2021

A Requiem for Wolfgang

mozart.jpeg

Would  have Peter Shaffer written the play that inspired Milos Forman's film had he not been aware of two small scenes written by Alexander Pushkin in 1830, 39 years after Mozart's death? This is what Jean-Pierre Pisetta wonders in the afterword of the translation he made of the short text by the great Russian poet that the composer Rimsky Korsakov set to music in 1897[1]

 

Obviously, the unfinished composition of the Requiem ordered under disturbing conditions, comes to be telescoped with the rumor of poisoning ... which Peter Shaffer and Milos Forman were able to stage by brilliantly using mystery within mystery ... Mozart dictating to Salieri his ultimate work.

 

[1] Cf. A. Pouchkine “Mozart and Salieri” translated from Russian with foreword and afterword by Jean-Pierre Pisetta - Edit. Bernard Gilson 2006 & Opera by Rimsky Korsakof “Mozart and Salieri” premiered on December 7, 1898 in Moscow with Fédor Chaliapine, premiered on June 3, 1932 in Paris - Opéra-Comique also with F. Chaliapine in the role of Salieri.

Vengeance of Salieri, decree from the Hereafter served on the musician by a strange visitor?

“Myths always have two sides: the basic components of the story and the meaning or significance that different people read in them. In Mozart's case, it's easy to list the popular ingredients: the child prodigy, the adult prodigy, early death in macabre circumstances - including the mysterious commission of a Requiem mass and the legend of poisoning ... by Salieri, although the list of candidates has been considerably lengthened by conspiracy theorists…. "[2]

 

231 years and a few days have passed since Mozart's death on December 5, 1791. We could not let this anniversary December pass by without mentioning the circumstances of his death, which some qualify as mysterious ... even criminal...

So, let's take up the question here again to disentangle the true from the false. Let us castigate the lies, the "fake news", rumors, slanders and other conspiratorial theses even if poets and writers, talented playwrights, taking up these legends, have succeeded in making Mozart a romantic hero.

The homicide fantasy: who murdered Mozart?

Suspicions of murder arose as soon as Wolfgang disappeared. They have blinded and dare I say "poisoned" many biographers, historians, and physicians  two centuries.

It must be admitted that, faced with the many clues suggesting a violent death, it is easy to imagine that an autopsy and a preliminary investigation would be carried out today.

Among the "fakes" which fueled the rumor, a Berlin newspaper reported on December 31, 1791 "Mozart is dead, he returned home from Prague suffering from an illness which has not ceased to destroy him...As his body swelled after death, it is even thought that he was poisoned”.

Wolfgang himself, tells Franz Xaver Niemetschek[3], would have foreseen this fatal outcome (Cf. below - §3)

The rumor quickly designates three sponsors: a jealous husband, the Freemasons considering themselves betrayed by the revelation of the mysteries of their rite in the Magic Flute, the intriguing Salieri, jealous of the gifts and success of Mozart, a criminal haunted by the bitterness...

 

1 - The legend of the jealous husband:

On December 10, 1791, all Vienna in chat: Magdalena Hofdemel was found disfigured with a razor by her husband. The young woman had been a pupil of Wolfgang and her husband evidently considered himself a cuckold. At the news of the musician's death on December 5, Magdalena seemed very moved, too much moved in the eyes of her husband Franz. The Viennese did not hesitated, it could be only Franz Hofdemel the cuckold husband, friend and lodge brother of the composer who, feeling betrayed, would have tried to get rid of Wolfgang,are hard to  then, in a fit of madness, would have ended up by disfigure his wife before committing suicide.

 

The scandal caused so much noise at Court that it would partly explain Constance's approach to Leopold II; while Constance was preparing to ask the emperor to grant her a pension, a generous friend, an excellent pupil of Mozart, informed her of the calumnies of which her husband was the object and advised her to undeceive the emperor: “Majesty, ... no one has yet been persecuted and slandered by his family with more violence and determination than my husband ... "  Constance would have pleaded before the emperor.[4]

 

One will wonder: would the emperor have agreed to grant an audience to Constance the very day after the scandal broke?

 

Legends are hard to die. As HC Robbins Landon[5] points out, Beethoven's behavior gives a glimpse into the gossip circulating in Vienna: when asked to improvise in front of Magdalena Hofdemel, he (Beethoven) grumbled, thinking that she had been Mozart's mistress.

 

The rumor of a "debauched" Mozart thrived for years, with Magdalena's son long passed for a bastard of the master.

 

However, insists H.C. Robbins Landon: "there is no evidence that the Hofdemels' tragedy had any direct or indirect link with Mozart."

 

2 - The myth of the Masonic conspiracy:

If Freemasons are forbidden to evoke the secrets of their initiation, could The Magic Flute constitute a crime of high treason with death as punishment? .... This theory can be easily dismissed for one simple reason: remember, it was happily that Mozart accepted in the spring of 1791 the proposal of his friend and brother mason Emanuel Schikaneder to compose, again in German, a magical opera for the “Auf der Wienden” theater (Cf. developments in our news letter n ° 4). This is The Magic Flute. However, it was Schikaneder himself who wrote the libretto and he, also a Free Mason, was never bothered as everyone who participated in the creation of the opera were never bothered.

In addition, Freemasonry was not secret in Vienna. It even edited a freely distributed gazette there.

 

Beyond Masonic symbolism, Mozart's lyrical masterpiece is composed to directly reach a popular audience. Between entertainment and subtly coded work, Masonic encryption could only be deciphered by true connoisseurs ... the freemasons themselves!

 

Finally, if we reread the eulogy delivered by the Grand Master of the newly crowned Hope Lodge, it is hard to imagine the existence of a plot hatched by the Freemasons[6].

3 - Salieri, or the crime of Jealousy:

It does seem, says Pierre-François Puech[7] that Peter Shaffer, the author of Amadeus, whose play inspired Milos Forman for his film was obsessed with the way Mozart died although he admitted, in a written afterword, after the release of the film "not having written an objective and documented biography of Mozart".

Let us proclaim loud and clear, NO! Antonio Salieri did not poison Mozart. Neither did he, at Wolfgang's bedside and at his dictation, note the orchestration of some of the parts of his famous Requiem.

 

So why this legend, and why does the magic of the film continue to operate? The tune-ups of musicologists and historians do nothing, the myth lasts, and Antonio Salieri is seen at best as Mozart's illegitimate and jealous competitor, at worst as the architect of his early death[8].

 

Did Mozart have a presentiment of his imminent death? The order for the Requiem came from a mysterious messenger ... and Mozart would have been disturbed.

 

Niemetschek relates: One fine autumn day, Constance led Mozart to the Prater to distract him and cheer him up. They sat down and Mozart began to talk about death; he said he was composing the Requiem for himself. With tears in his eyes, he added, " I can only feel too much that I won't be long. I was probably poisoned. I cannot get rid of this idea ”[9]. For J & B Massin this is the starting point of the legend.

 

It seems curious that Mozart was so frightened by death, he who wrote to his father on April 4, 1787. "As death [...] is the last stage of our life, I have become acquainted for some years with this best and true friend of man, so that his image not only has nothing 'frightening but rather reassuring and comforting for me”.

 

Milos Forman plays it ...

 

We now know the identity of the sponsor of the Requiem, it is not a masked Salieri who visits Mozart, it is actually Count Franz von Walsegg-Stuppach, who, to honor the memory of his young missing wife would have anonymously ordered Mozart a mass for the dead to claim paternity and pass for a composer of genius.

 

It must nevertheless be admitted that the worst rumors about Salieri's guilt spread in Vienna after Mozart's death.

 

Furthermore, Mozart’s poisoning thesis is fueled by Salieri himself.

 

Towards the end of his life, in fact, Salieri, seized with senile dementia and interned against his will, is delirious from time to time and accuses himself on several occasions of having killed Mozart. In 1821 he tried to commit suicide, then two years later in 1823 he tried to slit his throat. In November, Johann Schickh noted in Beethoven's conversation notebooks[10]: "Salieri slit his throat but he's still alive ... we can bet one hundred to one that Salieri's confessions, if they are checked by the manner in which Mozart died, will correspond to reality”. On January 25, 1824 Anton Schindler wrote there: “Salieri is doing very badly again. He keeps repeating that he is responsible for the death of Mozart. It is the truth, he wants to say it in his confession ... " On May 7, 1825, Salieri dies, he is delivered from his sufferings, Beethoven's nephew then writes: "Now, it is said with insistence that Salieri is  Mozart murderer”.[11]

 

But, when he has moments of lucidity, Salieri recedes and reconsiders his statements. This is what he would have confided to Ignatz Isaac Moscheles "I can give you my word that there is nothing reasonable in this absurd rumor ... But no, it is wickedness, pure wickedness, tell the world dear Moscheles; old Salieri, who is about to die, tells you so. "[12]

 

A doctor consulted on the subject of Mozart's illness and death may refute the thesis of poisoning, Mozart's youngest son may refute it too, many inhabitants of Vienna (including Salieri's wife) may be stricken by the same disease, by the same symptoms and die of it like Mozart ..., but it’s waste of time, nothing can be done. The rumor persisted that in 1830 Richard Wagner still noted "most Viennese musicians are convinced that Mozart was poisoned by Salieri".

 

If Mozart died of poison where is the evidence? Mozart’s body was reportedly swollen after his death and this was what suggested poisoning. Mozart blamed Aqua Toffana, a kind of slow arsenic invented by Italy ... but there is no hard evidence.

 

If there is any poisoning, it is not the work of a murderer but rather the medical consequences of the many illnesses that Mozart contracted during his short life. And then, there is the liquor of Dr. Swieten (a doctor who was very famous in Europe). Highly sought after, Dr. Swieten’s liqueur is becoming a popular potion that we like to drink as a simple cheer-me-up. Presumably, an exhausted Mozart often takes, uses and abuses of it. The elixir, based on mercury, would have had antiseptic, antiparasitic, antisyphilitic and purgative properties? He relieves him in his moments of weakness. For Michèle Lhopiteau-Dorfeuille[13], with the help of F. Cerutti (forensic doctor), the high fever, strong migraines, swelling of the feet and hands, vomiting and violent spasms, kidney pain and finally the short-lived coma suffered by the composer, correspond perfectly to acute nephropathy, caused by mercury chloride poisoning.

 

If Mozart was poisoned by Salieri what is the motive? Jealousy? This is Pushkin’s thesis, taken up by Peter Shaffer and Milos Forman. Did Salieri have any objective reason to be jealous? One can doubt it. Arrived young in Vienna, Salieri completed his training there, built his career, and obtained almost unshakable official positions. His work - including some forty operas - is recognized and performed throughout Europe. What does he have to fear from a Mozart who is certainly much admired, but in a much more precarious professional situation (as an independent musician)[14]? The precariousness of his independent status will be the subject of much criticism from his father Leopold.

 

For Vincent Novello[15], Salieri's enmity towards Mozart was born out of a cabal around the creation of his third opera “Cosi fan Tutte” with his librettist Da Ponte (who worked at least as much for Salieri as for Mozart.). To be “dubbed” by a young composer can displease, from there to imagine a criminal act! ... Let us recall that Salieri, enthusiastic, particularly appreciated the Magic Flute. In fact, he was present at Mozart's funeral, among the handful of people who attended the ceremony. In addition, it is hard to imagine the composer's widow, entrusting her son Franz-Xaver to Salieri to train him if she had been convinced by the rumor of the assassination ... Finally, it seems that Mozart and Salieri collaborated on the writing of some recently discovered compositions[16].

 

In short, Salieri's relationship with Mozart was closer to jealous rivalry than to hate, the source of any revenge.

4 - What then are the causes of Mozart's death?

Officially, the composer would have succumbed to a "severe military fever associated with eruption", as mentioned in his death certificate. A generic term which means that the body of the musician was in struggle. In struggle certainly but against what? Bacteria? Virus?

 

In 2009, a study by several doctors[17] from the Vienna Daily Death Register revealed, in the months preceding Wolfgang's death, the existence of an epidemic of streptococcal infections involving edema which is the hallmark of Mozart's final disease together confirmed by testimonies of contemporary witnesses.

 

In a provocative article Lucien Karhausen[18], a German epidemiologist, lists around 140 diagnoses believed to explain the composer's death. After analysis, he concludes that Mozart having died only once, most of these diagnoses are wrong and that it is more reasonable to think that the most probable hypothesis of death would be in relation to a trivial cause rather than exceptional.

 

Today, therefore, the most probable hypothesis seems to be that Mozart may have died of a streptococcal infection leading to an acute nephritic syndrome (kidney damage).

 

[2] Cf. H.C. Robbins Landon in « Dictionnaire Mozart » Edit. JCLattes

[3] Franz Xaver Niemetschek was the first to write a significant biography in 1798 before G.N. Nissen (Constance's second husband) published his. Professor of philosophy at the University of Prague, he took charge of the education of Mozart's second son and, using documents provided by Constance, wrote the first monograph on Mozart.

[4] See remarks taken up by Jean and Brigitte Massin, Mozart 1958 - CFL pages 580 and 581 from the biography written by Franz Xaver Niemetschek. The interview took place on December 11, 1791, it will certainly only be a question of Mozart's debts but, for J. Massin, the comparison with the event of December 10 suggests the existence of a causal link. an effect that Niemetschek would have modestly concealed.

[5] Cf. H.C. Robbins Landon in « 1791 Mozart’s last year » Edit. Fayard

[6] Cf. News letter n° 3: Mozart religious “in a different way”.

[7] Pierre-François Puech in "Mozart, an extraordinary investigation" - Maison Rhodanienne 1993

[8] Sophie Bourdais "once and for all, Salieri did not kill Mozart ... and his opera Falstaff is a treat" critical for Telerama.

[9] Cf. remarks taken up by Jean and Brigitte Massin, in Mozart 1958 - page 567 from the biography written by Franz Xaver Niemetschek.

[10] For nearly 10 years, Beethoven’s visitors communicated with him using a "conversation notebook" the composer always had at hand. Everyone wrote down what the deaf master could no longer hear. In these notebooks one finds dialogues with in particular Anton Schindler (Beethoven’s secretary and biographer), his nephew Karl, and Johann Schickh (journalist, editor).

[11] Cf. Pierre-François Puech in "Mozart, an extraordinary investigation" pages 67 and 68 and H.C. Robbins Landon "1791 Mozart’s last year" Edit. Fayard pages 247 and s

[12] Ignatz Moscheles (1794-1870) is a Czech pianist and composer, student of Salieri and Beethoven.

[13] Cf. Michèle Lhopiteau-Dorfeuille in « Wolfgang Amadeo Mozart, rêver avec les sons » Edit° Le Bord de l’eau 2011.

[14] Cf. Sophie Bourdais op.cit.

[15] Vincent Novello, publisher and composer, and his wife wrote down in their diary conversations they had with Constance.

[16] A cantata and an opera by Mozart and Salieri on a libretto by Da Ponte would have been discovered in 2016 in the Czech Republic.

[17] Mozart finaly died of a common desease AFP 19/08/2009 - Annals of Internal Medicine.  

[18] L. Karhausen, British Medical Diary (Online); London Vol. 341, (Dec 10, 2010).

Mois Année
Capture d’écran 2020-11-02 à 13.17.27.
"Découvrons la Galilée
avec Mozart"
Décembre 2021

Un Requiem pour Wolfgang

mozart.jpeg

Peter Shaffer aurait-il écrit la pièce qui a inspiré le film de Milos Forman s’il n’avait eu connaissance de deux petites scènes écrites par Alexandre Pouchkine en 1830, 39 ans après la mort de Mozart ? C’est ce que se demande Jean-Pierre Pisetta dans la postface de la traduction qu’il a faite du court texte du grand poète russe que le compositeur Rimski Korsakov mettra en musique en 1897[1]

 

Bien évidemment la composition inachevée du Requiem commandé dans des conditions troublantes vient se télescoper avec la rumeur de l’empoisonnement... Ce que Peter Shaffer et Milos Forman ont su mettre en scène en utilisant avec brio le mystère dans le mystère..., Mozart dictant à Salieri son œuvre ultime.

 

 

[1] Cf. A. Pouchkine « Mozart et Salieri » traduit du russe avec avant-propos et postface par Jean-Pierre Pisetta - Edit. Bernard Gilson 2006 & Opéra de Rimski Korsakof « Mozart et Salieri » créé le 7 décembre 1898 à Moscou avec Fédor Chaliapine, créé le 3 juin 1932 à Paris - Opéra-Comique également avec F. Chaliapine dans le rôle de Salieri.

Vengeance de Salieri, décret de l’Au-delà signifié au musicien par un étrange visiteur ?

 

« Les mythes ont toujours deux aspects : les composants fondamentaux du récit et le sens ou la signification que les différents individus y lisent. Dans le cas de Mozart, il est facile de dresser la liste des ingrédients populaires : l’enfant prodige, l’adulte prodige, la mort précoce dans des circonstances macabres - y compris la mystérieuse commande d’une messe de Requiem et la légende de l’empoisonnement... par Salieri, encore que la liste des candidats ait été considérablement rallongée par les théoriciens de la conspiration... »[2]

 

231 années et quelques jours se sont écoulés depuis le décès de Mozart ce 5 décembre 1791. On ne pouvait pas laisser passer ce mois de décembre anniversaire sans évoquer les circonstances de sa mort que d’aucuns qualifient de mystérieuses... voire de criminelles...

 

Alors, reprenons ici la question pour démêler le vrai du faux. Fustigeons les mensonges, les « fake news » avant l’heure, rumeurs, calomnies et autres thèses conspirationnistes même si des poètes et écrivains, dramaturges talentueux, reprenant ces légendes ont réussi à faire de Mozart un héros romantique.

 

Le phantasme des homicides : qui a assassiné Mozart ?

 

Les soupçons de meurtre ont pris naissance dès la disparition de Wolfgang. Ils ont, aveuglé et si j’ose dire « empoisonné », nombre de biographes, historiens, médecins, pendant deux siècles.

 

Il faut bien avouer que face aux nombreux indices évoquant une mort violente on imagine aisément qu’une autopsie et une enquête préliminaire seraient, aujourd’hui, diligentées.

 

Parmi les « fake » qui ont alimenté la rumeur, un journal berlinois signale le 31 décembre 1791 « Mozart est mort, il est rentré chez lui de Prague souffrant d’un mal qui depuis n’a cessé de le ronger... Comme son corps a enflé après la mort, on pense même qu’il a été empoisonné ».

 

Wolfgang lui-même, raconte Franz Xaver Niemetschek[3], aurait pressenti cette issue fatale (Cf. ci-après - §3)

 

La rumeur désigne rapidement trois commanditaires : un mari jaloux, les francs-maçons s’estimant trahis par la révélation des mystères de leur rite dans la Flûte enchantée, l’intrigant Salieri jaloux des dons et du succès de Mozart, criminel hanté par l’amertume...

 

 

1 - La légende du mari jaloux :

Le 10 décembre 1791, tout Vienne jase : Magdalena Hofdemel a été retrouvée défigurée au rasoir par son mari. La jeune femme avait été l’élève de Wolfgang et le mari, à l’évidence, s'estimait cocu. A la nouvelle de la mort du musicien le 5 décembre, Magdalena avait semblé bien émue, trop émue sans doute aux yeux de Franz, son époux. Les Viennois n’avaient pas hésité, cela ne pouvait être que Franz Hofdemel le mari cocu, ami et frère de loge du compositeur qui, se sentant trahi, aurait tenté de se débarrasser de Wolfgang puis, dans un accès de folie, aurait fini par défigurer son épouse avant de se suicider.

Le scandale fit tellement de bruit à la Cour, qu’il expliquerait, pour partie, la démarche de Constance auprès de Léopold II ; alors que Constance se disposait à demander à l’empereur de lui accorder une pension, une amie généreuse, excellente élève de Mozart, l’instruisit des calomnies dont son mari était l’objet et lui conseilla de détromper l’empereur : « Majesté, ... nul encore ne s’est vu poursuivre et calomnier par les siens avec plus de violence et d’acharnement que mon mari...» aurait plaidé Constance devant l’empereur.[4]

On s’interrogera : l’empereur aurait-il accepté d’accorder une audience à Constance le lendemain même du jour où le scandale éclate?

Les légendes ont la vie dure. Ainsi que le souligne HC Robbins Landon[5] le comportement de Beethoven livre un aperçu sur les ragots qui circulaient à Vienne : quand on lui demanda d’improviser devant Magdalena Hofdemel, il (Beethoven) renâcla, pensant qu’elle avait été la maîtresse de Mozart.

La rumeur d’un Mozart « débauché » prospéra pendant des années, le fils de Magdalena passant longtemps pour un bâtard du maître.

Cependant, insiste H.C. Robbins Landon : « rien ne prouve que la tragédie des Hofdemel ait eu le moindre lien direct ou indirect avec Mozart ».

2 - Le mythe du complot maçonnique :

S’il est interdit aux francs-maçons d’évoquer les secrets de leur initiation, La Flûte enchantée pouvait-elle constituer un crime de haute trahison avec pour châtiment la mort ? .... Cette théorie peut être aisément écartée pour une simple raison : rappelez-vous, c’est avec bonheur que Mozart accepte au printemps de 1791 la proposition de son ami et frère maçon Emanuel Schikaneder de composer, à nouveau en allemand, un opéra féérique pour le théâtre « Auf der Wienden » (Cf. développements dans notre news letter n°4). Il s’agit de La Flûte enchantée. Or c’est Schikaneder lui-même qui en écrit le livret et celui-ci, maçon également, n’a jamais été inquiété comme n’ont jamais été inquiétées toutes les personnes qui ont participé à la création de l’opéra.

En outre, la Franc-maçonnerie n’était pas secrète à Vienne. Elle y éditait même une gazette librement distribuée.

Au-delà̀ de la symbolique maçonnique, le chef-d’œuvre lyrique de Mozart est composé pour toucher directement un public populaire. Entre divertissement et ouvrage subtilement codé, le cryptage maçonnique ne pouvait être décrypté que par de vrais connaisseurs... les maçons eux-mêmes !

Enfin, à relire l’éloge funèbre[6] prononcée par le Grand maître de la loge l’Espérance nouvellement couronnée on imagine mal l’existence d’un complot ourdi par les Francs-maçons.

3 - Salieri, ou le crime de la Jalousie :

Il semble bien, dit Pierre-François Puech[7] que Peter Shaffer, l’auteur d’Amadeus, dont la pièce a inspiré Milos Forman pour son film ait été obsédé par la manière dont Mozart est mort bien qu’il reconnût, dans une postface écrite après la sortie du film « ne pas avoir écrit une biographie objective et documentée de Mozart ».

Proclamons haut et fort, NON ! Antonio Salieri n’a pas empoisonné Mozart. Il n’a pas non plus, au chevet de Wolfgang et sous sa dictée, noté l’orchestration de quelques-unes des parties de son fameux Requiem.

Alors pourquoi cette légende, et pourquoi la magie du film continue-t-elle d’opérer ? Les mises au point des musicologues et historiens n’y font rien, le mythe à la vie dure et Antonio Salieri est considéré au mieux comme le concurrent illégitime et jaloux de Mozart, au pire comme l’artisan de son décès précoce[8].

Mozart aurait-il eu le pressentiment de sa mort prochaine ? La commande du Requiem émane d’un mystérieux messager ... et Mozart en aurait été troublé.

 

Niemetschek raconte : un beau jour d’automne, Constance conduisit Mozart au Prater pour le distraire et le remonter. Ils s’assirent et Mozart se mit à parler de la mort ; il disait qu’il composait le Requiem pour lui-même. Des larmes brillaient dans ses yeux en ajoutant « Je ne sens que trop que j’en n’ai plus pour longtemps. On m’a surement empoisonné. Je ne peux me défaire de cette idée »[9]. Pour J & B Massin c’est le point de départ de la légende.

 

Il parait curieux que Mozart ait été autant effrayé par la mort, lui qui écrivait à son père le 4 avril 1787 « Comme la mort [...] est l’ultime étape de notre vie, je me suis familiarisé depuis quelques années avec ce meilleur et véritable ami de l’homme, de sorte que son image non seulement n’a pour moi rien d’effrayant mais est plutôt quelque chose de rassurant et de consolateur ».

 

Milos Forman en joue ...

 

On connait aujourd’hui l’identité du commanditaire du Requiem, ce n’est pas un Salieri masqué qui rend visite à Mozart, il s’agit en réalité du comte Franz von Walsegg-Stuppach, qui, pour honorer la mémoire de sa jeune épouse disparue aurait commandé anonymement à Mozart une messe des morts pour en revendiquer la paternité et se faire passer pour un compositeur de génie.

 

Il faut quand même avouer que les pires bruits sur la culpabilité de Salieri se propagent dans Vienne dès la mort de Mozart.

En outre, la thèse de l’empoisonnement de Mozart est alimentée par Salieri lui-même.

Vers la fin de sa vie, en effet, Salieri, pris de démence sénile et interné contre son gré, délire de temps en temps et s’accuse à plusieurs reprises d’avoir tué Mozart. En 1821 il tente de se suicider, puis deux ans plus tard en 1823 il essaie de se trancher la gorge. En Novembre, Johann Schickh note dans les carnets de conversation de Beethoven[10] : « Salieri s’est tranché la gorge mais il est encore vivant... on peut parier à cent contre un que les aveux de Salieri, s’ils sont contrôlés par la manière dont Mozart est mort, correspondront à la réalité ». Le 25 janvier 1824 Anton Schindler y consigne : « Salieri va très mal à nouveau. Il répète sans cesse qu’il est responsable de la mort de Mozart. C’est la vérité, il veut la dire dans sa confession... » Le 7 mai 1825, Salieri décède, il est délivré de ses souffrances le neveu de Beethoven écrit alors : « A présent, on dit avec insistance que Salieri est l’assassin de Mozart »[11].

Pourtant, lorsqu’il a des moments de lucidité, Salieri se rétracte et revient sur ses déclarations. C’est d’ailleurs ce qu’il aurait confié à Ignatz Isaac Moscheles « Je puis vous donner ma parole qu’il n’y a rien de censé dans cette absurde rumeur... Mais non c’est méchanceté, pure méchanceté, dites-le au monde cher Moscheles ; le vieux Salieri qui va bientôt mourir vous l’a dit » [12].

Qu’un médecin consulté au sujet de la maladie et de la mort de Mozart réfute la thèse de l’empoisonnement, que le fils cadet de Mozart en fasse de même, que de nombreux habitants de Vienne (dont la femme de Salieri) soient frappés de la même maladie, des mêmes symptômes et en meurent comme Mozart..., c’est peine perdue, rien n’y faît. La rumeur persista de telle sorte qu’en 1830 Richard Wagner notait encore « la plupart des musiciens viennois sont persuadés que Mozart a été empoisonné par Salieri ».

 

Si Mozart est mort empoisonné où sont les preuves ? D’après les témoignages, le corps de Mozart avait enflé après sa mort et c’est ce qui avait fait penser à un empoisonnement. Mozart a incriminé l’Aqua Toffana, une sorte d’arsenic lent d’invention italienne... mais il n’y a aucune preuve tangible.

 

Si empoisonnement il y a, ce n’est pas le fait d’un meurtrier mais plutôt les conséquences médicales des nombreuses maladies contractées par Mozart au cours des sa courte vie. Et puis il y a la liqueur du Dr. Swieten (médecin qui avait une grande renommée en Europe). Très recherchée, la liqueur du Dr. Swieten devient une potion en vogue que l’on se plaît à ingurgiter comme un simple remontant. Vraisemblablement, Mozart épuisé en prend souvent, en use et en abuse. L’élixir, à base de mercure, aurait eu des propriétés antiseptiques, antiparasitaires, antisyphilitiques et purgatives ? Il le soulage dans ses moments de faiblesse. Pour Michèle Lhopiteau-Dorfeuille[13], avec l’aide de F. Cerutti (médecin légiste), la fièvre élevée, les fortes migraines, l’enflure des pieds et des mains, les vomissements et les spasmes violents, la douleur aux reins et enfin le coma de courte durée dont a été victime le compositeur, correspondent parfaitement à une néphropathie aiguë, provoquée par une intoxication au chlorure de mercure.

 

Si Mozart a été empoisonné par Salieri quel en est le mobile ? La jalousie ? c’est la thèse Pouchkine, reprise par Peter Shaffer et Milos Forman. Salieri avait-il des raisons objectives d’être jaloux ? On peut en douter. Arrivé jeune à Vienne Salieri y a terminé sa formation, construit sa carrière, et obtenu des positions officielles quasiment inébranlables. Son œuvre — incluant une quarantaine d'opéras — est reconnue et jouée dans toute l'Europe. Qu'a-t-il à craindre d'un Mozart certes très admiré, mais en situation professionnelle (celle d'un musicien indépendant) beaucoup plus précaire ?[14]. La précarité de sa condition d’indépendant fera d’ailleurs l’objet de beaucoup de critiques de la part de son père Léopold.

Pour Vincent Novello[15], l’inimitié de Salieri à l’égard de Mozart est née d’une cabale autour de la création de son troisième opéra « Cosi fan Tutte » avec son librettiste Da Ponte (qui travaillait au moins autant pour Salieri que pour Mozart). Se faire “doubler” par un jeune compositeur peut déplaire, de là à imaginer un acte criminel !... Rappelons que Salieri, enthousiaste, a particulièrement apprécié la Flute Enchantée. D’ailleurs, il était présent à l’enterrement de Mozart, parmi la poignée de personnes ayant assisté à la cérémonie. En outre, on imagine mal la veuve du compositeur, confier son fils Franz-Xaver à Salieri pour le former si elle avait été convaincue par la rumeur de l’assassinat... Enfin, il semble que Mozart et Salieri aient collaboré à l’écriture de certaines compositions récemment découvertes[16].

Pour résumer, la relation que Salieri entretenait avec Mozart était plus proche de la rivalité empreinte de jalousie que de la détestation, source d’une quelconque vengeance.

4 - Quelles sont alors les causes de la Mort de Mozart ?

Officiellement, le compositeur aurait succombé d'une « fièvre ardente associée à une éruption miliaire », détaille son certificat de décès. Un terme générique qui signifie que le corps du musicien était en lutte. En lutte certainement mais contre quoi ? Bactérie ? Virus ?

En 2009, une étude de plusieurs médecins[17] a relevé, d’après le registre des décès quotidiens de Vienne, dans les mois qui ont précédé le décès de Wolfgang l’existence d’une épidémie d’infections streptococciques impliquant des œdèmes qui est la marque de la maladie finale de Mozart et qui concorde avec les témoignages de ses contemporains.

Dans un article provocateur Lucien Karhausen[18], un épidémiologiste allemand, liste environ 140 diagnostics sensés expliquer la mort du compositeur. Après analyse, il conclut que Mozart n’étant mort qu’une fois, la plupart de ces diagnostics sont erronés et qu’il est plus raisonnable de penser que le décès serait en relation avec une cause banale plutôt qu’exceptionnelle.

 

Aujourd’hui l’hypothèse la plus probable semble donc être celle d’une infection streptococcique conduisant à une inflammation rénale aiguë (lésions rénales).

 

[2] Cf. H.C. Robbins Landon in « Dictionnaire Mozart » Edit. JCLattes

[3] Franz Xaver Niemetschek est le premier à avoir écrit en 1798 une biographie significative avant que G.N. Nissen (second mari de Constance) ne publie la sienne. Professeur de philosophie à l’Université de Prague, il se chargea de l’éducation du second fils de Mozart et rédigea, à l’aide des documents fournis par Constance la première monographie consacrée à Mozart.

[4] Cf. propos repris par Jean et Brigitte Massin, Mozart 1958 - CFL pages 580 et 581 d’après la biographie écrite par Franz Xaver Niemetschek. L’entrevue eut lieu le 11 décembre 1791, il n’y sera certes question que des dettes de Mozart mais, pour J. Massin, le rapprochement avec l’événement du 10 décembre laisse supposer l’existence d’un lien de cause à effet que Niemetschek aurait pudiquement escamoté.

[5] Cf. H.C. Robbins Landon in « 1791 La dernière année de Mozart » Edit. Fayard

[6] Cf. notre news letter n° 3 : Mozart le religieux autrement.

[7] Pierre-François Puech in « Mozart, une enquête hors du commun » - Maison Rhodanienne 1993

[8] Sophie Bourdais « une fois pour toutes, Salieri n’a pas tué Mozart...et son opéra Falstaff est un régal » critique pour Télérama.

[9] Cf. propos repris par Jean et Brigitte Massin, in Mozart 1958 - page 567 d’après la biographie écrite par Franz Xaver Niemetschek.

[10] Pendant près de 10 ans, les visiteurs de Beethoven ont communiqué avec lui à l’aide d’un « cahier de conversation » que le compositeur avait toujours à portée de main. Chacun notait ce que le maître atteint de surdité n’était plus en mesure d’entendre. Dans ces cahiers on trouve des dialogues avec notamment Anton Schindler (son secrétaire et biographe), son neveu Karl, et Johann Schickh (journaliste, éditeur).

[11] Cf. Pierre-François Puech in « Mozart, une enquête hors du commun » pages 67 et 68 et H.C. Robbins Landon « 1791 la dernière année de Mozart » Edit. Fayard pages 247 et s

[12] Ignatz Moscheles (1794-1870) est un pianiste et compositeur tchèque élève de Salieri et de Beethoven.

[13] Cf. Michèle Lhopiteau-Dorfeuille in « Wolfgang Amadeo Mozart, rêver avec les sons » Edit° Le Bord de l’eau 2011

[14] Cf. Sophie Bourdais op.cit.

[15] Vincent Novello, éditeur et compositeur et son épouse notèrent dans leur journal des conversations qu’ils eurent avec Constance

[16] Une cantate et un opéra signés Mozart et Salieri sur un livret de Da Ponte auraient été découverts en 2016 en République Tchèque

[17] Mozart est mort d’une infection banale AFP 19/08/2009 Étude sérieuse suédoise publiée dans la revue médicale américaine Annals of Internal Medicine.

[18] L. Karhausen, British Medical Journal (Online); London Vol. 341, (Dec 10, 2010).