Mois Année
"Let's discover the Galilee
with Mozart "
December 2020

A little sign to clarify a mystery.

Before continuing our journey into Mozart’s heart, life and work, we would like to thank you for your feedback and comments on our newsletters, which are of interest to a high percentage of our subscribers.
 
We had initially planned to prepare a new newsletter on a subject that will be dealt with by the musical symposium on the sidelines of the 2022 Festival, but the news is forcing us to postpone sending this letter.
 
What news, what article and what discovery are inspiring us at this moment? Nothing to do with Covid 19 or the discovery of candidate vaccines ...

This is the reading of an article published in the newspaper Le Figaro which, according to its author, would shed "new light" on the Masonic ideals of Wolfgang. This article, whose title begins as a fable "Master Mozart by captivated Freemasonry ..." [1], deals with the recent study of a letter from Mozart to his father Léopold written in Vienna on April 4, 1787 when the latter was suffering from a serious illness (he will pass away on May 28). Our readers will therefore understand why we could not ignore this new information to close this chapter on the Masonic inclinations of Wolfgang

The journey of this letter is already epic as recounted by Philippe Gault for Classic Radio:
 
“Revealed in 1829 in the biography of Mozart written by Georg Nikolaus Nissen[2], no one knew where the original could be, which, unlike most of the Mozart family correspondence, had escaped the Dommusikverein und Mozarteum, created in 1841 (ancestor of the Mozarteum Foundation). The famous letter would have been bequeathed by Franz Xaver Wolfgang, the last of Mozart's six children, to his wife” [3].

[1] Le Figaro November 20, 2020 "Master Mozart by Freemasonry captivated" by Thierry Hilléroteau
[2] Georg Nikolaus Nissen was Constance Mozart's second husband
[3] Franz Wolfgang Mozart (1791-1844) studied music in Prague and Vienna among others with Hummel and Salieri. He was like his father a child prodigy; at the age of eleven he published a piano quinquet. 

“The identity of the subsequent owners of the precious missive is quite a mystery. It was found with a Viennese lawyer in 1877 and then in the collections of the Wilhelm Heyer's Museum of Music History in Cologne before it was lost during 4 auctions of the collection of this museum in Berlin in the 1920s. and that it reappears on an unknown date in the hands of Albi Rosenthal, a famous antique dealer specializing in musical autographs. The last owner of the letter was Maurice Sendak[4] who sold them in 2012 to the Rosenbach Museum & Library. The Philadelphia Museum, which therefore decided to sell three original letters at the beginning of 2020 to the Mozarteum Foundation in Salzburg, including this one "

[4]  Maurice Sendack (1928-2012) is an American writer famous for his album “Max et les maximonstres”.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0IVSXCDRFvg

As we indicated in our 3rd newsletter[5] , if Mozart's Freemason journey in the last seven years of his life is known to us, it is mainly thanks to the archives found in the Viennese lodges. Apart from the few musical opuses connected to Freemasonry (cantatas, his Masonic funeral music or The Magic Flute)[6] , testimonies from the musician or his family on his membership in the freemason organization are rare[7] .

It should be remembered that if the Emperor Joseph II of Austria, enlightened despot and himself music lover[8]  authorized the performance of Nozze di Figaro taken from the play by Beaumarchais censored in France, the revolutionary ideas imported from France scared[9]  Joseph II, pushing him then Leopold II to place the Freemasons under police surveillance because he takes a dim view of these secret meetings calling into question his absolute power. We then understand why Mozart's private correspondence could have been purged of all allusions to his Masonic commitment which could become compromising; "Mozart did not die in the odor of holiness".

This touching letter was not unknown to the composer's scholars and biographers[10], but it had "aroused a certain skepticism" and no one had learned all the lessons from its reading.

"Mon très cher Père![11] 
I have just this moment heard news that leaves me very downcast … But now I hear that you are truly ill! It is surely not necessary to tell you with how much longing I look forward to comforting news direct from yourself; and this is also my firm hope … As death (strictly considered) is the true ultimate destination of our life, I have therefore, over the past few years, made myself so familiar with this true, best friend of man that its image not only no longer holds anything terrifying for me, but also a great deal that calms and comforts! And I thank my God that he has granted me the good fortune to create the opportunity |: you understand me to come to know it as the key to our true blessedness
”.

It is the passage in which Mozart evokes death that challenges exegetes. It must be said that these lines are amazing from a man who was then only 31 years old.

According to Thierry Hillériteau "it had always been difficult to relate this letter with certainty to Masonic thought".

Of course, Jean and Brigitte Massin recalled the place that the question of death held in the Masonic initiation: “The companion must, in order to become a Master, symbolically reproduce in his initiation death and spiritual resurrection of the builder of Solomon's Temple. Put to death by ignorance, fanaticism and ambition, he is called to life by knowledge, tolerance, and detachment ... "[12].

Philippe Gault for Radio Classique also recalls that Mozart appreciated the reading of Moses Mendelssohn[13] and Gotthold Ephraïm Lessing[14] who developed thoughts on the positive image of death (to be compared with this idea of ​​death as the key to happiness).

The rediscovery of this letter, never presented in any public collection, and its study by Ulrich Leisinger[15] (at the center on the photo) would confirm Mozart's attachment to Freemasonry thought.

Looking at the original Ulrich Leisinger observes a detail that catches his attention: “Right next to the signature, after the abbreviation “manu propria”, we can decipher a small symbol which clearly resembles two interlocking triangles: one points upwards, the other downwards”. A Masonic hieroglyphic triangle found in rare documents related to Freemasonry, such as a letter that Léopold Mozart addressed on July 8, 1785 to his “esteemed friend and brother” the Freemason editor Pasquale Artaria, as well as a note by Mozart himself on March 30, 1787 in the guestbook of his lodge brother Johann Georg Kronauer "Patience and tranquility of mind contribute more to cure our distempers as the whole art of medicine".

[5]  See our News Letter 3 “Religious but in a different way - 1784 The Masonic turn”.
[6] Refer to our News Letter n ° 3 op.cit. and News Letter n ° 4
[7] See Press article in Figaro 20 November 2020 op.cit.
[8] Milos Forman takes up in his film Amadeus, a funny scene in which, according to Nissen, the emperor, expresses to Mozart at the same time admiration and a slightly outdated opinion about a tune of the Abduction from the Seraglio which would contain "too much notes”. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=H6_eqxh-Qok 
[9] Many Freemasons welcome revolutionary ideas with enthusiasm and more or less make propaganda of them.
[10] First of all, Baron von Nissen, second husband of Constance, mentions it in Mozart's bibliography published in 1829. Jean and Brigitte Masson also quote it in their work with a note on which we will come back. Jean-Victor Hocquard also refers to it in his Mozart - 1958 - Plon.
[11] Mon très cher Père! is written in French, so frequently used to show deference. The translation of the letter is then taken from the Mozarteum website. https://dme.mozarteum.at/DME/briefe/letter.php?mid=1614&l=2
[12] See op.cit. in Jean & Brigitte Massin, Mozart 1958 - CFL page 999.
[13] Moses Mendelssohn (1720-1786): great Jewish philosopher and great figure of the “Jewish Enlightenment” (Haskala), he is the grandfather of the composer Felix Mendelssohn-Bartholdy. Translator for the German-speaking public of Rousseau's Discourse on the Origin of Inequality, he is also the author of Phaedo or Interviews on the Immortality of the Soul published in 1767, of which Mozart had a copy in his library.
[14] Gotthold Ephraïm Lessing (1729-1781): playwright, literary critic and philosopher. Forms with M. Mendelssohn the "enlightened" group of Berlin. He is particularly known for his play “Nathan the Wise” which stages the three great monotheistic religions and which advocates active tolerance, the touchstone of piety. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WGraxZa0N8U
[15] Ulrich Leisinger is Director of the Research Department at the Mozarteum.

Mozart's autograph on his letter of April 4, 1787 to his sick father [16] 

[16] It is possible to consult some of these digitized documents on the Mozarteum website, including now Wolfgang's letter to his father. https://dme.mozarteum.at/DME/briefe/letter.php?mid=1614&l=2   See on website the page n° 3 with Mozart signature.

Autograph of Leopold Mozart on his letter of July 8, 1785 in Artaria

Mozart's autograph on J.G. Kromauer's guestbook [17] 

[17] J.G. Kronauer (1743-1799) was a collector of autographs of well-known masons. Under the text "Patience ..." Mozart signs the guestbook as "true and sincere friend and lodge brother" http://data.onb.ac.at/rep/1004802B, page 95 of the catalog.

In April and May 1787, Mozart composed in quick succession two quintets for strings (C major K. 515 composed on April 19, 1787 and G minor K. 516 composed on May 16, 1787). It has been said that the Quintet in G represented the commentary on Mozart's letter.

This is not the opinion of Jean-Victor Hocquard[18]  for whom Mozart's letter to his father "dogmatically affirms the faith in immortality ...; and theoretically the blessed aspect of death”. However, for J-V Hocquard "the two quintets evoke the painful and distressing aspect of death".

But for Jean and Brigitte Massin, after the pathetic adagio of the first part of the finale, the fourth movement of the Quintet in G minor ends with an allegro which sets aside the tragic ... "it is that we must continue to live and ... tear his eyes away from the most painful”.

It is therefore on the notes of the excerpt from the adagio-allegro of the Quintet in G minor (to listen) that we will put an end to the Masonic aspects of the life and work of Mozart.

[18] Jean-Victor Hocquard, Mozart 1958 - Seuil

Meet In Galilée 

2bis rue Leroux

75116 Paris

  • Facebook

© 2016 - LES JOURNEES DE GALILEE

Directeur de la publication / Managers publishing

Nous contacter: 

 

+33652756212

muriel.haim@meetingalilee.com

Subscribe to our newsletter:

Mois Année
"Découvrons la Galilée
avec Mozart"
Décembre 2020

Un petit signe pour éclaircir un mystère.

Avant de poursuivre notre voyage dans le cœur, la vie et les œuvres de Mozart, nous tenons à vous remercier de vos retours et commentaires faits sur nos newsletters dont la lecture intéresse un pourcentage élevé de nos abonnés.

Nous avions initialement prévu de préparer une nouvelle newsletter sur un sujet que traitera le symposium musical en marge du Festival 2022 mais l’actualité nous oblige à différer l’envoi de cette lettre.

Quelle actualité, quel article et quelle découverte nous inspirent en cet instant ? Rien à voir avec la Covid 19 ou la découverte de candidats vaccins...

Il s’agit de la lecture d’un article publié dans le journal le Figaro qui apporterait, selon son auteur, un « nouvel éclairage » sur les idéaux maçonniques de Wolfgang. Cet article, dont le titre commence comme une fable « Maître Mozart par la Franc Maçonnerie captivée... »,[1] traite de l’étude récente d’une lettre de Mozart à son père Léopold écrite à Vienne le 4 avril 1787 alors que ce dernier était atteint d’une grave maladie (il s’éteindra le 28 mai). Nos lecteurs comprendront dès lors pourquoi nous ne pouvions passer outre cette nouvelle pour clore ce chapitre sur les penchants maçonniques de Wolfgang.

Le parcours de cette lettre constitue déjà une épopée racontée par Philippe Gault pour Radio classique :

« Révélée en 1829 dans la biographie de Mozart écrite par Georg Nikolaus Nissen[2], personne ne savait où était passée l’originale qui, contrairement à la majorité de la correspondance de la famille Mozart, avait échappé au Dommusikverein und Mozarteum, créé en 1841 (ancêtre de la Fondation Mozarteum). La fameuse lettre aurait été léguée par Franz Xaver Wolfgang, le dernier des six enfants de Mozart[3], à sa compagne ».

[1] Cf. Le Figaro 20 novembre 2020 « Maître Mozart par la Franc-maçonnerie captivé » par Thierry Hillériteau.

[2] Georg Nikolaus Nissen a été le second époux de Constance Mozart.

[3] Franz Xaver Wolfgang Mozart (1791-1844) a étudié la musique à Prague et à Vienne entre autres avec Hummel et Salieri. Il fut comme son père un enfant prodige ; il publia à l’âge de onze ans un quintette avec piano.

« L’identité des propriétaires suivants de la précieuse missive est assez mystérieuse. On la retrouve chez un juriste viennois en 1877 puis dans les collections du musée d’Histoire de la musique de Wilhelm Heyer à Cologne avant qu’elle ne se perde lors de 4 ventes aux enchères du fonds de ce musée à Berlin dans les années 1920 et qu’elle réapparaisse à une date inconnue entre les mains d’Albi Rosenthal, célèbre antiquaire spécialisé dans les autographes musicaux. Le dernier propriétaire de la lettre, fut Maurice Sendak[4] qui les céda en 2012, au Rosenbach Museum & Library. Le musée de Philadelphie qui a donc décidé de vendre au début de l’année 2020 trois lettres originales à la Fondation Mozarteum de Salzbourg dont celle-ci ».

[4] Maurice Sendack (1928-2012) est un écrivain américain célèbre pour son album « Max et les maximonstres ». 
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0IVSXCDRFvg

Comme nous l’avons indiqué dans notre 3ème newsletter[5], si le parcours franc-maçon de Mozart dans les sept dernières années de sa vie, nous est connu, c’est principalement grâce aux archives retrouvées dans les loges viennoises. En dehors des quelques opus musicaux connectés à la Franc-maçonnerie (des cantates, sa Musique funèbre maçonnique ou La Flûte enchantée)[6], les témoignages émanant du musicien ou de sa famille sur son appartenance au mouvement sont rares[7].

Il faut rappeler que si l’Empereur Joseph II d’Autriche, despote éclairé et lui-même mélomane[8] autorisa la représentation des Nozze di Figaro tirée de la pièce de Beaumarchais censurée en France, les idées révolutionnaires importées de France font peur[9] poussant Joseph II puis Leopold II à placer les francs-maçons, sous une surveillance policière car il voit d’un mauvais œil ces réunions secrètes remettant en cause son pouvoir absolu. On comprend alors pourquoi la correspondance privée de Mozart a pu être purgée de toutes allusions à son engagement maçonnique qui pourraient devenir compromettantes ; « Mozart n’est pas mort en odeur de sainteté ».

Cette touchante lettre n’était pas inconnue des spécialistes et biographes du compositeur[10], mais elle avait « suscité un certain scepticisme » et personne n’avait tiré tous les enseignements de sa lecture.

« Mon très cher père,
... J’apprends que vous êtes sérieusement malade ! Avec quel ardent désir j’attends de vous-même des nouvelles moins alarmantes. Je n’ai vraiment pas besoin de vous le dire...
Comme la mort (si l’on considère bien les choses) est le vrai but de notre vie, je me suis familiarisé depuis quelques années avec cette véritable et meilleure amie de l’homme, de sorte que son image non seulement n’a pour moi plus rien d’effrayant, mais m’est très apaisante et consolante ! Et je remercie mon dieu de m’avoir accordé́ le bonheur de saisir l’occasion (vous me comprenez) d’apprendre à la connaître comme la clé de notre véritable félicité ».


C’est le passage dans lequel Mozart évoque la mort qui interpelle les exégètes. Il faut dire que ces lignes sont étonnantes sous la plume d’un homme qui n’a alors que 31 ans.

Selon Thierry Hillériteau « il avait toujours été difficile de rattacher avec certitude cette lettre à la pensée maçonnique ».

Bien sûr, Jean et Brigitte Massin rappelaient la place que a question de la mort tenait dans l’initiation maçonnique : « ...Mis à mort par l’ignorance, le fanatisme et l’ambition, il est rappelé à la vie par le savoir, la tolérance, et le détachement... » [11].

Philippe Gault pour Radio Classique rappelle en outre que Mozart appréciait la lecture de Moses Mendelssohn[12] et de Gotthold Ephraïm Lessing[13] qui ont développé des pensées sur l’image positive de la mort (à mettre en parallèle avec cette idée de la mort comme clé de la félicité).

La redécouverte de cette lettre jamais présentée dans aucune collection publique et son étude par Ulrich Leisinger[14] (au centre sur la photo) confirmerait le rattachement de Mozart à la pensée franc-maçonnique.

En observant l’original Ulrich Leisinger observe un détail qui attire son attention : « Juste à côté de la signature, après l’abréviation “manu propria”, on déchiffre un petit symbole qui s’apparente clairement à deux triangles entremêlés : l’un pointe vers le haut, l’autre vers le bas ». Un triangle hiéroglyphe maçonnique que l’on retrouve dans de rares documents qui sont liés à la franc-maçonnerie, comme une lettre que Léopold Mozart adresse le 8 juillet 1785 à son « estimable ami et frère » l’éditeur franc-maçon Pasquale Artaria, ainsi qu’une note de Mozart lui-même le 30 mars 1787 dans le livre d’or de son frère de loge Johann Georg Kronauer « Patience et tranquillité d’esprit contribuent plus à soigner nos maux que tout l’art de la médecine ».

[5] Cf  NL 3 « Mozart le Religieux autrement » - 1784 Le tournant maçonnique.

[6] Cf. nos NL n°3 op.cit. et NL n°4

[7] Cf. article du Figaro 20 novembre 2020 op.cit.

[8] Milos Forman reprend dans son film Amadeus, une scène amusante dans laquelle, d’après Nissen, l'empereur, donne son opinion à la fois admirative et légèrement dépassée à propos d’un air de l’Enlèvement au Sérail qui comporterait « trop de notes ». https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=H6_eqxh-Qok 

[9] Beaucoup de Francs-Maçons accueillent les idées révolutionnaires avec enthousiasme et en font peu ou prou la propagande.

[10] En premier lieu le Baron von Nissen second époux de Constance en fait mention dans la bibliographie de Mozart publiée en 1829. Jean et Brigitte Masson la citent également dans leur ouvrage avec une note sur laquelle nous reviendrons. Jean-Victor Hocquard également y fait référence dans son Mozart - 1958 - Plon.

[11] Cf. op.cit. in Jean & Brigitte Massin, Mozart 1958 - CFL page 999.

[12] Moses Mendelssohn (1720-1786) : grand philosophe juif et grande figure des « Lumières juives » (Haskala), il est le grand père du compositeur Felix Mendelssohn-Bartholdy. Traducteur pour le public germanophone du Discours sur l’origine de l’inégalité de Rousseau, il est également l’auteur du Phédon ou entretiens sur l’immortalité de l’âme paru en 1767 dont Mozart avait un exemplaire dans sa bibliothèque.

[13] Gotthold Ephraïm Lessing (1729-1781) : dramaturge, critique littéraire et philosophe. Forme avec M. Mendelssohn le groupe « éclairé » de Berlin. Il est notamment connu pour sa pièce « Nathan le Sage » qui met en scène les trois grandes religions monothéistes et qui prône la tolérance active, pierre de touche de la piété. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WGraxZa0N8U

[14] Ulrich Leisinger est Directeur du département de recherche au Mozarteum.

Autographe de Mozart sur sa lettre du 4 avril 1787 à son père malade [15]

[15] Il est possible de consulter certains de ces documents numérisés sur le site du Mozarteum dont dorénavant la lettre de Wolfgang à son père. https://dme.mozarteum.at/DME/briefe/letter.php?mid=1614&l=2  voir la page 3 avec la signature de Mozart. 

Autographe de Leopold Mozart sur sa lettre du 8 juillet 1785 à Artaria

Autographe de Mozart sur le livre d’or de J.G. Kromauer [16]

[16] J.G. Kronauer (1743-1799) était collectionneur d’autographes de maçons connus. Sous le texte « Patience... » Mozart signe le livre d’or en tant que « vrai et sincère ami et frère de loge »  http://data.onb.ac.at/rep/1004802B , page 95 du catalogue. 

En avril et en mai 1787, Mozart compose coup sur coup deux quintettes pour cordes (le Do majeur K. 515 composé le 19 avril 1787 et le Sol mineur K. 516 composé le 16 mai 1787). Il a été dit que le Quintette en Sol représentait le commentaire de la lettre de Mozart.

Ce n’est pas l’avis de Jean-Victor Hocquard[17] pour qui la lettre de Mozart à son père « affirme dogmatiquement la foi en l’immortalité ... ; et théoriquement l’aspect bienheureux de la mort ». Or, pour J-V Hocquard « les deux quintettes évoquent l’aspect douloureux et angoissant de la mort ».
 
Mais pour Jean et Brigitte Massin, après l’adagio pathétique de la première partie du final le quatrième mouvement du Quintette en Sol mineur s’achève par un allegro qui écarte le tragique ... « c’est qu’il faut continuer à vivre et ... arracher son regard du plus douloureux ».
 
C’est donc sur les notes de l’extrait de l’adagio-allegro du Quintette en Sol mineur (à écouter) que nous mettrons un point d’orgue sur les aspects maçonniques de la vie et de l’œuvre de Mozart.

[17] Jean-Victor Hocquard, Mozart 1958 - Seuil

Meet In Galilée 

2bis rue Leroux

75116 Paris

  • Facebook

© 2016 - LES JOURNEES DE GALILEE

Directeur de la publication / Managers publishing

Nous contacter: 

 

+33652756212

muriel.haim@meetingalilee.com

S'abonner à notre Newsletter: