Mois Année
"Let's discover the Galilee
with Mozart "
September 2020

Mozart : Religious but “in a different way”

I - 1784, the Freemason turn


 On December 14, 1784, (between the fourth and the fifth and sixth Quartets) Mozart performs an act which
is of the utmost importance to him: he enthusiastically adheres to Freemasonry and is initiated as Apprentice in the Lodge Viennese « Zur Wohlthätigkeit » (Beneficence). He invited his two fathers there: Leopold, initiated as apprentice in March, then elevated to the grade of companion on April 16, 1785 after "Daddy Haydn" was himself initiated on February 11.
 
This adhesion is not the result of thoughtless impulse. Mozart had early contacts with members of the Masonic Order. He who has traveled through the capitals of the Europe of Enlightenment is sensitive to rationalist ideas, religious tolerance and fraternity.
 
Between 1772 and 1774, he is said to have composed his first Masonic song, a festive hymn for the Lodge of Saint-Jean “O heiliges Band” (K.148). At the end of 1777, he met with Theobald Marchand, one of the founders of the Mannheim Lodge and Otto von Gemmingen[1], another Freemason from this city who set up in Vienna on February 11, 1783 ”The Beneficence” lodge and invite Mozart to join. Mozart sent his letter of application in November 1784.

So the spirit of Freemasonry was very close to him for a long time ... but in the way the spirit of a religion can be very close to the thought of a man in the months and years before his conversion. It is the works of the last seven years of his life that will bear witness to the fruits of this "conversion", to the depth and intensity of his life as a Mason. Was this conversion reflected in his life? The care with which his correspondence has been largely withheld since December 1784 suggests the contrary. The dishonesty or the foolishness of the witnesses certainly made the documents disappear, but, if the biography admits its relative powerlessness, it is then necessary to refer to the documents[2] which remain, its music and in particular "The magic flute / Die Zaubeflöte" (cf. next episode)

Its rise was rapid but by no means exceptional for the time. He was promoted to the rank of companion in the Lodge « Zur wahren Eintracht » (True Concord) on January 7, 1785 and was elevated to the position of Master before April 22 of the same year. This lodge was founded when Mozart moved to Vienna when Emperor Joseph was just beginning to implement his program of reforms inspired by the philosophy of the Enlightenment.
 
On December 4, 1791, "at midnight, Mozart sat up on his bed, his eyes statics, then he leaned his head against the wall and seemed to fall asleep again"[3]. On December 5 at 0:55 am, misery with its procession of deprivation, anxiety and overwork ended its work. At thirty-five years, ten months and eight days, Mozart's heart ceased to beat. The death certificate reads: "acute military fever". The body is put in a coffin according to the Masonic ritual (black hooded coat).

 

The Freemasons of Vienna as a whole realize the loss they have just suffered. At a meeting of « Zur Neugekrönten Hoffnung » the (New Crowned Hope) lodge, the Grand Master delivers Mozart's eulogy: "It pleased the Eternal Architect of the universe to tear from our fraternal chain one of our most loved and deserving members. Who has not known him? Who has not esteemed him? Who did not love him, our worthy brother Mozart? ... The untimely death of Mozart remains an irreparable loss for art ... Fairness demands that we remember his skill for the art; just as we must not forget to bring a legitimate offering to his excellent heart ... He was a good husband, a good father, a friend for his friends, a brother for his brothers, and he only lacked wealth to make people happy, hundreds according to the wish of his heart”.  

The controversy over Mozart's last moments seems irrelevant, as mentions Philippe Sollers: "According to Sophie Haibel[4], priests would have refused to come to assist him (bad reputation, masonry….). Religious, not religious? The question does not make any sense. Religious in a different way that's for sure. Just listen to what he wrote about the Requiem: no one has ever done better forever and ever"

 

But it must be acknowledged that Mozart himself, during the last 7 years of his life, has turned away from church music in favor of Freemasonry music. Apart from the Ave verum corpus (K. 618 Baden June 1791) and from the parts of the Requiem he composed, Mozart's last religious work is the Mass in C minor (K. 427) composed from 1782 to 1783. For 8 years, Mozart has not written church music. This does not mean that he does not express religious feelings when he composes religious music ... He has kept deep inside him feelings which remain in tune with religious sensitivity ... He did not believe them incompatible with the rest of himself or especially with his Masonic convictions.

As for the composition of "his" Requiem, Mozart will constantly postpone the work on this order, however well paid. It was towards the end of July 1791, around the time when he inscribed the almost completed score of the Flute in his catalog a little prematurely, that Mozart received in a strange and mysterious way the order for the composition of a Mass for the dead.
 
As Jean and Brigitte Massin write "the day after the Flute, Mozart did not rush to the completion of the Requiem". On the contrary, after the composition of the Introït, the Kyrie and a draft of the Dies Irae, he interrupts this work to immerse himself around August 15 in the writing of an opera ordered urgently and intended to celebrate the coronation of Leopold. II as King of Bohemia[5].
 
Then will come to crown the work of his life, first on October 7, 1791 his sublime Concerto in A major (K. 622) written for his friend, virtuoso performer and brother mason Anton Stadler as well as for the basset clarinet which the latter has co-invented[6].

Then, on November 15, 1791, 20 days before his death, already greatly weakened by illness, he completed his Masonic Cantata in C major with the evocative title “Das lob der freundschaft” (K. 623) “Praise of friendship” which he composed with a song in F major (K. 623a) “Lasst uns mit geschlungen haenden” (Let’s join our hands) farewell song that Mozart made his brothers sing and which ended with these words: “ To venerate virtue and humanity, to learn the love of oneself and the love of others, that this is always the first duty. Then, and not only in the East and the West, but also in the South and the North, the light will flow ".
 
So, it is really on these two Masonic compositions that his entire work ends, and the title of the cantata K. 623 alone therefore takes on a meaning that any commentary would weaken.

Amadeus, loved by God ..., but also loved by Masons ... Religious in a different way

[1] Le baron Otto H. von Gemmingen was the translator for Germany of JJ. Rousseau. 

[2] J & B Massin suggest that the virulence of Mozart's enemies, and slanderers towards the end of his life, would have prompted witnesses, friends, and perhaps even Constance to destroy part of his Masonic correspondence and other documents deemed compromising.

[3] Cf. Joseph Deiner, Mozart’s friend and first of his closest allies.

[4] Sophie Haibel (born Weber) sister of Constance Weber, Mozart’s wife.

[5] La Clemenza di Tito was represented on September 6th 1791.

[6] Anton Stadler was a renowned clarinetist. It is for the basset clarinet that Mozart composes his Quintet K.581 and the Concerto K.622 as well as the clarinet and basset horn solos in "La Clemenza di Tito". Basset clarinet, basset horn and solemn trombones are privileged wind instruments in the orchestrations of Masonic pieces.

Landmarks:
 

On January 10, 1785 he completed the Quartet in A major (K. 464) whose andante refers to the reception ritual.

On January 14, 1785 he completed the “Dissonant Quartet” in C major (K. 465) which relates to his elevation to the second grade (companion). https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qlLsrh38Jq8
On March 9, 1785 he completed the Piano Concerto No. 21 in C major (K. 467), the beautiful andante of which alludes to the third grade (Master). https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=O7335XDZQP0
On March 26, he completed the Lied “Gesellen Reise” (K. 468), probably related to his father's candidacy.
On April 20, he completes the cantata for tenor, male choir and orchestra "Die Maurerfreude" (K. 471) "Joy of the freemason".
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=I6u_lunZzXY
In July, he composes the Master Music (K. 477) for male choir and orchestra.
On December 11, the Emperor ordered the merger of the eight lodges of Vienna.
In January 1786 Mozart put two poems into music, the first celebrating the benevolence of Joseph II, the second in praise of the dignitaries of "The newl crowned hope" Lodge. He composed two adagios for its inauguration, including the adagio in Bb (K. 411) which simultaneously expresses the commitment of Mozart's entire intimate being in the Masonic mysteries ... https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-fCORYFJ-yg
On September 28, 1791 Mozart completed Die Zauberflöte, the premiere of which he conducted on September 30 at the Schikaneder theater.
On October 7, 1791 he completed the Concerto in A major for clarinet. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=o_gm0NCabPs
On Novembre 15, 1791 he completes his Masonic Cantata in C major “Das lob der freundschaft” (K. 623) “In praise of friendship” with a song in F major (K. 623a) as a closing “Let’s join our hands”.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Y8Lsr0-L7ZU
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Oa55EHwSnKE


Biographical references: Most of the texts have been written:
Jean and Brigitte Massin, Mozart 1958 - CFL.
Philippe Sollers, Mystérieux Mozart 2001 - Plon.
Philippe A. Autexier (music historian) for the Dictionnaire Mozart - Lattes - bringing together articles by several authors under the direction of H.C. Robbins Landon.
Jean-Victor Hocquard, Mozart 1958 - Seuil.

Meet In Galilée 

2bis rue Leroux

75116 Paris

  • Facebook

© 2016 - LES JOURNEES DE GALILEE

Directeur de la publication / Managers publishing

Nous contacter: 

 

+33652756212

muriel.haim@meetingalilee.com

Subscribe to our newsletter:

Mois Année
"Découvrons la Galilée
avec Mozart"
Septembre 2020

Mozart : Le religieux "autrement"

I - 1784, le tournant franc-maçon
 
Le 14 décembre 1784, (entre le quatrième et les cinquième et sixième Quatuors) Mozart accomplit un acte qui revêt pour lui la plus haute importance : il adhère avec enthousiasme à la Franc-Maçonnerie et se fait initier au grade d’Apprenti dans la Loge viennoise « Zur Wohlthätigkeit » (La Bienfaisance). Il y entrainera ses deux pères : Léopold, initié au grade d’apprenti en mars, reçu compagnon le 16 avril 1785 après que « Papa Haydn » ait été lui-même initié le 11 février.
 
Cette adhésion n’est pas le fruit d’une impulsion irréfléchie. Mozart a été très tôt en contact avec des membres de l’Ordre Maçonnique. Lui qui est passé par les capitales de l’Europe des Lumières est sensible aux idées rationalistes, à la tolérance religieuse et à la fraternité.
 
Entre 1772 et 1774 il aurait composé son premier chant maçonnique, un hymne de fête pour la Loge de Saint-Jean « O heiliges Band » (K.148). Fin 1777 il fait la connaissance de Theobald Marchand, l’un des fondateurs de la loge de Mannheim et d’Otto von Gemmingen[1] un autre franc-maçon de cette ville qui installe à Vienne le 11 fevrier 1783 la loge de « La Bienfaisance » et invite Mozart à s’y joindre. Mozart envoie en novembre 1784 sa lettre de candidature.

L’esprit de la Franc-Maçonnerie était donc très proche de lui depuis longtemps... mais à la façon dont l’esprit d’une religion peut être très proche de la pensée d’un homme dans les mois et les années qui précèdent sa conversion. Ce sont les œuvres des sept dernières années de sa vie qui témoigneront des fruits de cette « conversion », de la profondeur et de l’intensité de sa vie de Maçon. Sa vie elle-même, n’en a-t-elle rien reflété ? Le soin avec lequel sa correspondance est escamotée en grande partie depuis décembre 1784 suggère le contraire. La malhonnêteté ou la sottise des témoins a certainement fait disparaître des documents[2], mais si la biographie avoue son impuissance relative il faut alors se reporter aux documents qui demeurent, sa musique et notamment « La flûte enchantée / Die Zaubeflöte » (cf. prochain
épisode) 
 
Son ascension est rapide mais nullement exceptionnelle pour l’époque. Il est promu au grade de compagnon de la Loge « Zur wahren Eintracht » (La vraie Concorde) le 7 janvier 1785 et est élevé au grade de maître avant le 22 avril de la même année. Cette loge est fondée au moment où Mozart s’installe à Vienne alors que l’empereur Joseph commence tout juste à mettre en œuvre son programme de réformes inspirées par la philosophie des lumières.
 
Le 4 décembre 1791, « à minuit, Mozart se dressa sur son lit, les yeux fixes, puis il pencha sa tête contre le mur et parut se rendormir »[3]. Le 5 décembre à 0h55, la misère avec son cortège de privations, d’angoisses et de surmenage a fini son œuvre. A trente-cinq ans, dix mois et huit jours le cœur de Mozart a cessé de vibrer. L’acte de décès porte : « fièvre militaire aiguë ». La mise en bière a lieu selon le rituel maçonnique (manteau noir à capuche).
 
Les Francs-Maçons de Vienne réalisent dans leur ensemble la perte qu’ils viennent de faire. Lors d’une réunion de « Zur Neugekrönten Hoffnung » la loge de l’Espérance nouvelle couronnée, le Grand-Maître de la Loge prononce l’éloge funèbre de Mozart : « Il a plu à l’Architecte éternel de l’univers d’arracher à notre chaîne fraternelle l’un de nos membres les plus aimés et les plus méritants. Qui ne l’a connu ? Qui ne l’a estimé ? Qui ne l’a aimé, notre digne frère Mozart ? ... La mort prématurée de Mozart demeure pour l’art une perte irréparable ... L’équité exige de rappeler à notre mémoire son habileté pour l’art ; tout autant ne devons-nous pas oublier d’apporter une légitime offrande à son excellent cœur ... Il était bon époux, bon père, ami de ses amis, frère de ses frères, et la fortune lui manquait seule pour en rendre heureux des
centaines selon le vœu de son cœur
 ».
 
La controverse sur les derniers moments de Mozart semble dépourvue d’intérêt note Philippe Sollers :
« D’après Sophie Haibel[4], des prêtres auraient refusé de venir l’assister (mauvaise réputation, maçonnerie, etc.). Religieux, pas religieux ? La question n’a pas grand sens. Religieux autrement c’est certain. Il suffit d’écouter ce qu’il a écrit du Requiem : personne n’a jamais fait mieux dans les siècles des siècles »
 
Mais il faut reconnaitre que Mozart lui-même, durant ces 7 dernières années de vie, s’est détourné de la musique d’église au profit de la musique franc-maçonnique. En dehors de l’Ave verum corpus (K. 618 Baden Juin 1791) et des parties du Requiem qu’il a composées, la dernière œuvre religieuse de Mozart est la Messe en Ut mineur (K. 427) composée de 1782 à 1783. Depuis 8 ans, Mozart n’a plus écrit de musique d’église. Cela ne signifie en rien qu’il n’exprime pas des sentiments religieux quand il compose de la musique religieuse... Il a gardé au fond de lui des fibres qui demeurent accordées à la sensibilité religieuse...
Il ne les a pas crues incompatibles avec le reste de lui-même ni surtout avec ses convictions maçonniques.

Quant à la composition de « son » Requiem, Mozart va sans cesse repousser le travail sur cette commande, pourtant bien payée. C’est vers la fin juillet 1791, à peu près au moment où il inscrit un peu prématurément sur son catalogue la partition presque achevée de la Flûte, que Mozart reçoit d’une manière étrange et mystérieuse la commande de la composition d’une Messe des Morts.  
 
Comme l’écrivent Jean et Brigitte Massin « au lendemain de la Flûte, Mozart ne s’est pas rué à l’achèvement du Requiem ». Au contraire, après la composition de l’Introït, du Kyrie et une ébauche du Dies Irae, il interrompt ce travail pour se plonger autour du 15 août dans l’écriture d’un opéra commandé en urgence et destiné à fêter le couronnement de Leopold II comme roi de Bohême.[5]
 
Viendront alors couronner l’œuvre de sa vie d’abord le 7 Octobre 1791 son sublime Concerto en la majeur destiné à son ami, interprète virtuose et frère maçon Anton Stadler ainsi qu’à la clarinette de basset en la que ce dernier a co-inventée[6].

Puis, le 15 novembre 1791, 20 jours avant son décès, déjà fortement affaibli par la maladie, il achève sa Cantate maçonnique en ut majeur au titre évocateur « Das lob der freundschaft » (K. 623) « L’éloge de l’amitié » qu’il a composée avec un lied en Fa majeur (K. 623a) « Lasst uns mit geschlungen haenden » (Enlaçons nos mains) chant d’adieu que Mozart fait chanter à ses frères et qui s’achève par ces mots :
« Vénérer la vertu et l’humanité, apprendre l’amour de soi et d’autrui, que ce soit toujours le premier devoir. Alors, et non seulement à l’Orient et au Couchant, mais aussi au Sud et au Nord, ruissellera la lumière ».
 
C’est donc vraiment sur ces deux compositions maçonniques que son œuvre entière prend fin, et le titre seul de la cantate K. 623 prend de ce fait une signification qu’affadirait tout commentaire.

Amadeus, aimé de Dieu..., mais aussi aimé des Maçons... Religieux autrement... !

[1] Le baron Otto H. von Gemmingen a été le traducteur en Allemagne des œuvres de JJ. Rousseau

[2] J & B Massin suggèrent que la virulence des ennemis, et des calomniateurs de Mozart vers la fin de sa vie auraient poussé les témoins, amis, et peut-être même Constance à détruire une partie de sa correspondance maçonnique et d’autres documents jugés compromettants.

[3] D’après Joseph Deiner : ami de Mozart, premier des fidèles....

[4] Sophie Haibel (née Weber) sœur de Constance Weber épouse de Mozart

[5] « La Clemenza di Tito » représentée le 6 septembre 1791.

[6] Anton Stadler est un clarinettiste particulièrement réputé. C’est pour la clarinette de basset que Mozart compose son Quintette K.581 et le Concerto K.622 ainsi que les solos de clarinette et de cor de basset dans « La Clemenza di Tito ». La clarinette de basset, le cor de basset et les solennels trombones sont des instruments à vent privilégiés dans les orchestrations de pièces maçonniques.

Repères :
 
Le 10 janvier 1785 il achève le Quatuor en la majeur (K. 464) dont l’andante se réfère au rituel de réception.
Le 14 janvier 1785 il achève le Quatuor en Ut majeur (K. 465) « Les dissonances » qui se rapporte à sa promotion au deuxième grade (compagnon). https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qlLsrh38Jq8
Le 9 mars 1785 il achève le concerto n° 21 pour piano en ut majeur (K. 467) dont la très belle andante fait allusion au troisième grade (Maître). https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=O7335XDZQP0
Le 26 mars il achève le Lied « Gesellen Reise » (K. 468) probablement en rapport avec la candidature de son père.
Le 20 avril, il achève la cantate pour ténor, chœur d’hommes et orchestre « Die Maurerfreude » (K. 471) « La joie du Maçon ». https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=I6u_lunZzXY
En Juillet, il compose la Musique de maîtrise (K. 477) pour chœur d’hommes et orchestre.
Le 11 décembre l’Empereur ordonne la fusion des huit loges de Vienne.
En janvier 1786 Mozart met deux poèmes en musique le premier célébrant la bienveillance de Joseph II, le second est à la louange des dignitaires de la nouvelle Loge : « L’espérance nouvellement couronnée ». Il compose deux adagios pour son inauguration dont l’adagio en Sib (K. 411) qui exprime à la fois l’engagement de tout l’être intime de Mozart dans les mystères maçonniques... https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-fCORYFJ-yg
Le 28 septembre 1791 Mozart achève Die Zauberflöte dont il dirige la première le 30 septembre au théâtre de Schikaneder.
Le 7 Octobre 1791 il achève le Concerto en la majeur pour clarinette. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=o_gm0NCabPs
Le 15 novembre 1791 Il achève sa Cantate maçonnique en ut majeur « Das lob der freundschaft » (K. 623) « L’éloge de l’amitié » avec un lied en Fa majeur (K. 623a) en guise de clôture « Enlaçons nos mains ».
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Y8Lsr0-L7ZU
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Oa55EHwSnKE
 
Références Biographiques : La plupart des textes utilisés ont été repris de :
Jean et Brigitte Massin, Mozart 1958 - CFL.
Philippe Sollers, Mystérieux Mozart 2001 - Plon.
Philippe A. Autexier (historien de la musique) pour le Dictionnaire Mozart - Lattes - réunissant des articles de plusieurs auteurs sous la direction de H.C. Robbins Landon.
Jean-Victor Hocquard, Mozart 1958 - Seuil.   

Meet In Galilée 

2bis rue Leroux

75116 Paris

  • Facebook

© 2016 - LES JOURNEES DE GALILEE

Directeur de la publication / Managers publishing

Nous contacter: 

 

+33652756212

muriel.haim@meetingalilee.com

S'abonner à notre Newsletter: